Skip to content

Of insensible sense of humor!

January 2, 2009

FaceThere is at least one thing common between me, my dad and Shahrukh Khan. We have this tendency of exercising non-sense, sense of humor, that is neither sarcasm nor mean to hurt yet that offends the other person. To prove my point let me quote a couple of examples; once during an award show Shahrukh introduced Pakistani actor Resham on stage. Resham started speaking and she mentioned her successful social movie titled, Dupatta Jal Raha Hai (The scarf is burning). Upon hearing the title Shahrukh chimed in, “Oops, we’ll wait for the rest of it to burn…”

In front a massive crowd and dignitaries that was a total non sense comment which he thought to be funny. But then he’s genius… in a split second he realized it and said while smiling his typical mischievous smile, “Mujhe maaf kar do Resham…” (I am sorry). She too laughed it off. And then once again Shahrukh’s remarks offended Indian politician Amar Singh when he while hosting an award show remarked, “Mujhe Amar Singh ki ankhon main darind-agi dikhai daitee hai” (I can see the devil in Amar Singh’s eyes). According to him he made these comments in pure jest and didn’t mean to hurt anyone’s feelings. But not all people take it that way.

Same is with my dad, I don’t always like his comments that he makes in pure humor.  I too could be called a tongue-lasher though I try hard to be careful with my sense of humor. Today there was a new name added in the list of people who got offended by me though totally unintentionally. I remember I have hurt my sister so many times like that. I didn’t even spare my mom. And I used to think why were they upset and amazingly I never used to say sorry. Because I never thought it to be wrong. Now I do! Because with time I have changed, I have grown serious. I don’t like people to hurl funny remarks at me. I take it personally and in return I too refrain from doing so. But …  with friends you often forget the rules and step on the sensitive zones. This reminds a scene from the movie Dil Chahta Hai where a guy falls for a woman much older than him and one of  his best friends makes a nasty comment that split up their friendship.

I am scared of offending people who matter to me. I am careful about uttering things but on the other hand there are times when I want people close to me to understand and ignore what I said.

Because that’s just me! Sometimes sensible, sometimes not!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2009 11:37 am

    Welcome to the New Year 🙂
    and share that comment please 😉

  2. Ayesha permalink
    January 3, 2009 12:27 pm

    Thanks DFR! 🙂

    About the comment I’d say:

    Pardahy main rehnay do
    Pardah na uthao
    Parda jo uth gaya tou
    Bhaid khul jaye ga
    Allah meri tauba, Allah meri tauba
    😀

  3. January 5, 2009 5:38 am

    😀

  4. Asma Ahsan permalink
    January 6, 2009 8:57 pm

    Hmm – sad sense of humour and no voice – yaar Ayesha – what we tell inlaws when proposal comes for you? 😛

  5. Ayesha permalink
    January 7, 2009 1:51 pm

    Hahahaha! Nothing I guess 😉

  6. Asma Ahsan permalink
    January 8, 2009 5:20 am

    umeed pai duniya qaim hai – we will find a guy who is tone deaf – and sings in shower himself. 😉

Leave a Reply

