Skip to content

The Squirrel

December 24, 2008

squirrelIn the quiet afternoon, when no one is around, seeing squirrels running after one another and climbing the branches of tall trees is common. They could be seen in full action when they don’t feel threatened by anyone’s presence.

I was sitting in the lawn, reading a newspaper, when I saw a squirrel struggling with a piece of rope. The dangling 2 feet rope was tied to a low branch of the tree and the squirrel wanted it. It held the rope in it’s hands and tried to pull it. It didn’t work, the squirrel tried again and after changing it’s position pulled it in the  opposite direction. Still, it didn’t untie. The squirrel then began to roll the piece of rope into bundle and looked so cute holding it in it’s hands. It pulled the rope hard one last time but in vain.

Awhile later the squirrel began to gnaw the rope and the fur started to fall like snow flakes.  While it was busy at it the crow came and the squirrel ran away. I know it’ll come back and I wouldn’t be surprised to see the rope missing.

The squirrels commonly found here are wary of people. They run away instantly they hear someone coming or talking. I wish they were a little friendly. I am posting a photo of squirrel I took recently. This, however, isn’t the same squirrel who was struggling to get the rope.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Nen permalink
    December 24, 2008 7:06 pm

    Awww

  2. Saad Ibrahim permalink
    December 24, 2008 9:45 pm

    Cute!

  3. December 25, 2008 4:56 am

    I like the way they eat.I have a bird feeder,which is also shared by a couple of suirrells.

    Nice photograph,priceless!

  4. December 25, 2008 5:27 am

    Squirrels are cute, but they can give u a bite to remember!

  5. Ayesha permalink
    December 25, 2008 1:15 pm

    Thank you guys! 🙂

    Shine: I know they do bite really hard and they are rodents too 😕

  6. bmk permalink
    December 26, 2008 5:26 am

    I can well imagine the unsaid… There is one in my neighbor as well & I can see it playing with itself, often… bechara/i seems alone like me. 🙂

  7. Asma Ahsan permalink
    December 26, 2008 5:54 am

    I have a real good picture of a squirrel – let me see if I can put it up – All animals living in the wild are wary of humans – they are right to do so as the human race is usually unkind to animals – unless they are pets and their movements are controlled by them.

  8. Ayesha permalink
    December 26, 2008 5:41 pm

    Lol@ alone like you 😛

    Asma: Do post it. I’d like to see 🙂

  9. д§mд permalink
    December 31, 2008 5:41 am

    Aww squirrels are so cute naa and ayesha thats a very nice picture you’ve taken 🙂

    We dont have squirrels here in Islamabad … in Lahore they are en abundance. Squeaky little cuties 🙂

  10. Ayesha permalink
    January 2, 2009 8:41 pm

    Really? You don’t have them in Islamabad? I mean we have loads of them here and they ruin the fruit trees, don’t ask.

    Thanks for appreciating the photo. I tried, it could have been better if I had a powerful zoom 🙂

Leave a Reply

