Skip to content

Innovative Frauds!

November 21, 2008

When I was a kid I used to read this ad in papers about pen friendship urging people to order those magazines having data of men and women from across the globe. The advertiser would only give his/her P.O Box number and would claim that they’d facilitate the meeting and friendship.

These ads are now passe after the advent of internet. But the other day I was amazed to learn that people have started all that crap through cell phone now. Call it a new type of publicity or a prank text message.  But it irked me when I receieved this message:

Looking a Gilr/Boy for Friendship or Marriage. Then just type “Fastdfind” & Send to 2244. See thousand of Girls/Boys Profile with contact info in ur Area.

That is obnoxious!

Someone called up my father’s cell phone this evening saying that you have won a huge sum from Telenor. Kindly, tell us your distrcit blah blah!

Give me a break man! That is just too much and the Telenor people should take notice of such prank/fruad calls. The man was calling from some other Telenor number. After internet, people have started using cell phones too for fruads!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. newb3e permalink
    November 21, 2008 8:18 pm

    I got a call last week at around 9 30 am (i was sleeping) someone in Panjabi accent said that he was calling from Warid and I have won 10 lakh rs I said transfer 10 lakh to my prepaid credit oho phir jo sari us bunday ke.

  2. November 22, 2008 1:09 am

    haha, like it’s that easy to find a future spouse that the computer generated hits would be the ‘right’ one!
    >.<

    Ohh and the lottery/money-winning thing is such bitter candy!My aunt got a fonecall once saying she’d won..so innocently sweet-she rang us to tell us that-her bubble was deflated once my dad told her of all the string which are attached with such a prize!

  3. Ayesha permalink
    November 22, 2008 11:12 am

    That is absurd and annoying. Don’t ask! 🙂

  4. Asma permalink
    November 24, 2008 5:27 am

    I got mail that I had won something – my husband said – dont answer it – they will track my acoounts on it – er – I dont have any accounts – thats the best part. 😛

  5. bmk permalink
    November 24, 2008 2:57 pm

    may be you have got that text msg. as well where someone is in hospital & begging for Rs.10/15 easy load. 🙂

  6. Ayesha permalink
    November 24, 2008 4:30 pm

    A: Fraud through email is very common. The phone call amazed me.

    BMK: Lol! I haven’t received such message yet but thanks for telling me 😀

Leave a Reply

