Skip to content

My Childhood Fancy!

November 19, 2008

scootyNow isn’t that strange when I was a kid I terribly wanted to have a scooty like that, while at that time scooties weren’t common at all.

This photo has been taken from a book of nursery rhymes that I had won as a prize in the first standard. Instead of reading the poems I used to watch this photo all the time, yearning to have a scooty like that. It was a strange desire because I already had a bike but still I wanted it.

If you notice this photo has a cute pup too but that didn’t appeal to me. I never asked my parents for pets. It was only scooty that had gripped my imagination.

I laugh when I think about it now. Did you have any such fancy. Something that you terribly wanted to have in childhood?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Ordinary Girl permalink
    November 20, 2008 10:31 pm

    I once wanted a violin terribly. So much that I quit eating for a day (a day was my extent of bhook hartaal! ๐Ÿ˜€ ), even wrote a long begging letter to my Nana asking him to pressurize my parents into buying me a violin. I wanted to learn the instrument but of course, my parents were like, “Hawww!! gana bajana sheekna hai??!! NEVER!” ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Asma permalink
    November 21, 2008 6:22 am

    I saw Mary poppins and the song where they jump in the book fascinated me – so I drew a picture of a perfect city in a drawing book when I was barely nine and kept asking my naani to pray that I get what my heart wants – didnt give her details ๐Ÿ˜‰

    My cousins and my sisters and me used to jump on the book trying to get in there. ๐Ÿ˜›

  3. Ayesha permalink
    November 21, 2008 2:01 pm

    OG: That’s so funny! And yes, parents always come up with numerous excuses like that ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Asma: Amazing childhood. See we all do such silly things. I wanted to make something that could fly ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. November 21, 2008 3:34 pm

    my books made me live in fantasies and when i came to real life everything got vanished, i keep on redden my fingers with the fresh blood of these daily killed fantasies.
    wish i could hate these books

  5. Ayesha permalink
    November 21, 2008 4:19 pm

    DFR: What type of books? ๐Ÿ˜›

    I don’t hate any of my books. They taught me a lot in different ways ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. November 21, 2008 7:15 pm

    my story book
    taught me alot as well
    but left me to face bitter realities by myself

  7. Asma permalink
    November 24, 2008 5:33 am

    Mujhe to abhi bhi aqal nahin aaee – I still read and write stories – ๐Ÿ˜›

    If we lose fiction in our lives – the reality will kill us in seconds…

Leave a Reply

