Skip to content

O Fortuna

October 22, 2008

Do you also associate this song with death and destruction? I like it nonetheless, lyrics and music both are amazing! The full orchestra plays it in the video. Below is the translation of this Latin poem.

O Fortune,
like the moon
you are constantly changing,
ever waxing
and waning;
hateful life
now oppresses
and then soothes
as fancy takes it;
poverty
and power
it melts them like ice.

Fate – monstrous
and empty,
you whirling wheel,
you are malevolent,
well-being is vain
and always fades to nothing,
shadowed
and veiled
you plague me too;
now through the game
I bring my bare back
to your villainy.

Fate, in health
and virtue,
is against me
driven on
and weighted down,
always enslaved.
So at this hour
without delay
pluck the vibrating strings;
since Fate
strikes down the strong man,
everyone weep with me!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2008 5:45 pm

    I admit i’m not into orchestra and such… but this song is very moving…

    i first heard of this from a band called Enigma and when it first came out, I was just lost in this deep lyrical voyage …

    though the musical notes may sound as if an impeding doom is coming… on the other hand, the lyrics straightforwardly suggest what fortune is all about…

    yes, the dubious nature of luck… it can be both good and bad … evil and pleasant
    fate has the ability to bring both ‘poverty and power’ . either way , its impact is nonetheless unpredictable like that of the ‘whirling wheel’ of fortune

  2. Ayesha permalink
    October 22, 2008 5:48 pm

    Exquisite: I am impressed! 🙂

    And I can’t agree with you more…

  3. Asma permalink
    October 23, 2008 4:42 am

    Ayesha – I know a lot about opera and classical music.

    The tone of this kind of composition shows rebellion and frustration. They always uses this style in movies like OMEN and other historical action thrillers where a great calamity is about to befall on you – so its like a building up of tension and the expectancy of the worst possible that basically rises up to a craching crescendo!

    Its an incredible emotion depictied very very strongly in this particular composition.

  4. Asma permalink
    October 23, 2008 4:43 am

    “crashing crescendo” – spellings again!

  5. October 23, 2008 12:06 pm

    @ayesha: thanks for the compliments… i also thank you for making an effort to understand my mindless chatter 🙂

    @Asma: yourz explanation seems so much more credible…
    all i can do to backup my point is to highlight my reference from a band called Enigma 😛

    but i do believe the song has to do more with fate and destiny!

  6. Asma permalink
    October 23, 2008 10:11 pm

    Exquisite – I am not trying to be one up on you at all here, neither comparing your opinion to mine. I apologise if you read it that way – no harm intended.

    I wasnt talking about the lyrics, I am sure they are exactly how you read them, I was just pointing out the tone of the music as similar pieces have been used in many places – This is a very famous composition.

    So, since you are talking about the lyrics, and I am talking about the music composition, how can my explanation be more credible than yours? We are talking about completely different things!

    So no need to back up your point – I am not debating your opinion at all.

  7. October 24, 2008 7:06 am

    @Asma: No no, u’ve got me all wrong . I was not at all for the debating. In fact, I felt personally that what you said made more sense… Perhaps, the way I have expressed my opinion end up looking as an argument or defense, but my intentions weren’t as such!

    As a matter of fact, I thank you for coming up with an equitable assessment of the said Orchestra and this proves that our blogging community does help to correct one another and is indeed, blessed with talented individuals
    take care
    🙂

  8. October 24, 2008 1:16 pm

    This is so beautiful!
    Not very often [well, okayy, VERY often!] I come across poetry I secretly wish I had written.
    This is one of them.
    😐

    I’m not too keen on orchestra but it fits wonderfully with the words of the poem.
    x

  9. October 24, 2008 2:24 pm

    Is it just me or the video isn’t available now?

  10. October 25, 2008 6:44 am

    It’s amazing. A composition like this transports you somewhere else. Grander and elevated. It also happens to me when I hear bagpipes. The sound strikes the cords within you.

  11. October 25, 2008 3:04 pm

    wow!,this is wonderful! 🙂

  12. Ayesha permalink
    October 26, 2008 11:28 am

    Exquisite and Asma you both are very down to earth! 😛 and I have greatly benefited from your wisdom and insight into lyrics and music of O’ Fortuna 🙂

    HFM: I was also struck by the lyrics. They are just so true and amazing!

    Hamza: I agree with you! This composition strikes the inner chords.

    Smiley: Thanks for visiting me and for liking the post 🙂

  13. Asma permalink
    October 27, 2008 4:41 am

    hehehe – down to earth and ME!!!

    Er…thanks…I will write a new diary on that now…down to earth…another “exquisite” piece of writing from my end 😛

  14. Asma permalink
    October 27, 2008 4:42 am

    Nayni ka koi asar to hona hi hai – (reference to the new hehehe addition to my vocablary!) 😛

Leave a Reply

