Skip to content

Things that please me!

October 11, 2008

Okay, so Exquisitetagged me to write about things that please me. I am of the view the material things can never please you; they are only the source of convenience and necessity. There are certain things that I like or used to like such as movies (have my own collection), music, PC, Internet and the list goes on.

Today I’d like to pick three things that pleases me in some way.

Books:

Mark Twain said that good friends, good books and sleepy conscience: this is the ideal life. I think he’s right. Good books are the ultimate source of pleasure, information, stimulation and imagination. I always feel good after reading something that touches my soul, my inner self. I would have shared my shelf picture… but er… I like privacy and to to be honest it is so stacked with books that it seems like crashing down πŸ™‚

I would nonetheless share the photos of two books that are unforgettable to me due to one reason or the other. The first one is called The making of Asoka. This book will always be important for me since I won it in a draw. Believe me I had never won a single draw before that. If any of you used to read children magazine Taleem-o-Tarbiat you would know that it had a quiz section and those who used to have correct answers would get gift books published by Ferozsons. The problem was that many participants would have correct answers and then draw would come into play. My best buddy from school, lucky girl, won thrice in a draw. While I would be like, heck! what’s wrong with me. As a consolation I would only see my name published in the print.

So when I woke up one fine morning in 2002, I got a mail. I was asked to send my mailing address. I had even forgotten that I had ever participated in that online quiz. I was skeptical but I was proved wrong when within a month I got that big parcel right from UK. Won’t forget it. Winning is pleasurable and then winning a book that was about my favorite movie and actors. That feeling is still alive in my memory!

Book number 2 is Still Reading Khan. To understand my passion for books and for SRK it is enough to say that I own this book. Well this is the most expensive book I ever bought. I don’t think I’ll ever spend that much on any book πŸ˜› I bought it for 5,000 Rs πŸ˜• I am not kidding but I think it was worth buying.

Windows Live Messenger/Yahoo Messenger:

Well, I am addicted to both. It connects me with my loved ones. And yes, my messenger buddy list is not something like 50 0r 100 people. It is very limited πŸ™‚

Cell Phone:

Lastly, cell phone! I like my current cell phone. I am not much into playing music on phone. But I like it for video and still camera and internet connectivity. Whenever I am taking rest I end up fiddling with it. Sending texts, setting alarm (snooze is wicked), writing quick short notes, ringing up my siblings at odd times, checking the time or just to see my way in it’s light when the power is out πŸ˜›

After messenger it is the second best thing.

That is it on my part. Although my list could have been long but I would limit it to three things like my fellow bloggers. I wish I had cute pets to talk about. But I have none! Gosh! I am so boring! πŸ˜›

I now tag:

Asma

Aadil

Sarah (Though I doubt she’d write on it because she is busy)…

28 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2008 9:38 am

    How true is that when u say material things are jsut a tool for conviencie and comfort… i have absolutely no objection in that

    no matter what new tech comes in, good old books would always be there to cheer us up
    i mean amazon recently came up with wireless ebook reading device by the name of Kindle but the feel of book in hand and the surreal atmosphere that it offers for us to get lost into it for a while is unbeatable…

    ahem… “I would have shared my shelf picture… but er… I like privacy and to to be honest it is so stacked with books…” ahem … πŸ™‚ pard me for being such an exhibitionist πŸ˜› …

    and it’s never too late to own a pet πŸ˜€

  2. Ayesha permalink
    October 11, 2008 9:43 am

    I like printed books, the feel of page and even the fragrance of page πŸ˜›

    I might adopt a pet… just waiting for the right time. How about iguana? Hehehehehe!

    Well, I liked your shelf photo. I too came up with that idea but in negative it became even more visible gosh even one could see the specks of dust here and there πŸ˜€

  3. October 11, 2008 5:13 pm

    heheh… u know some of my college text books, they can be purchased in local pages but i strictly say no to them…
    A. because they are not genuine
    B. i can’t stand those rough pages… so i get the original and sometimes just keep feeling those pages over and over again… (i get distracted too soon 😦 … )

    iguana…. :S , what’s wrong with cat… cats are jsut so adorable.. u’ll see… get one πŸ™‚

    think of those ‘specks of dust’ as those shinning stars that add that extra magnetism and fascinate you to draw your attention towards those tall standing books πŸ™‚

    take care

  4. Ayesha permalink
    October 11, 2008 6:12 pm

    You have this quality of bringing out positivity in everything πŸ˜€

    I like that!

  5. Asma permalink
    October 12, 2008 6:21 am

    Good post. πŸ™‚

    I can see you like Shahrukh Khan – You dug up very cool pictures of him – He is not that good looking in a classic sense but his personality is very charming πŸ˜›

    Who doesnt love Shahrukh Khan?

  6. Ayesha permalink
    October 12, 2008 6:23 am

    Lol! Yeah Asma I know even you do πŸ˜›

    Hey it is your turn now to write about things that please you πŸ™‚

    I am looking forward to it…

  7. Asma permalink
    October 12, 2008 6:26 am

    By the way – I meant ALL WOMEN LOVE SHAHRUKH KHAN – The men are DEAD JEALOUS OF HIM!!!

    Its always a good idea to make your guy jealous by putting on a SHAHRUKH flick in the evening and later humming KUCHH KUCHH HOTA HAI around the house πŸ˜‰

  8. Asma permalink
    October 12, 2008 6:27 am

    Yaar – How do you use the tag icon in there?

  9. Ayesha permalink
    October 12, 2008 6:33 am

    Hmm… well and how does guys make women jealous. By playing Aishwarya’s flick??? πŸ˜›

    Yeah it’s simple. Just type the name then highlight it. You’d see an icon of the “link” when you compose your entry. Click on that and insert the URL. Then in options you can select what type of icon you want. So in “class” I select “wp-caption”.

    That is it!

  10. October 12, 2008 6:55 am

    oh well thank u… i try πŸ™‚

    and it always a treat to meet fellow well-rounded people … hard to find these days :S

    please keep posting…
    take care!

  11. Asma permalink
    October 12, 2008 7:01 am

    Ok – That was simple – Let me try it out.

    Would you believe I am not jealous of pretty women – One should get inspired and try to look as good as them. Use them as role models – not be jealous. Why give the guy the pleasure of succeeding in making you jealous???? πŸ˜›

  12. Asma permalink
    October 12, 2008 7:04 am

    Also – though Shahrukh khan looks rally cool in short hair – maybe a longer hairstyle could be a new look – I saw a guy once with longer hair who had similar looks but better height – It suited his face.

  13. Asma permalink
    October 12, 2008 7:06 am

    “Really cool” – Not RALLY COOL (*spellings!*) – I am sure he is not into car racing, except on his PSP – See, even writing about SRK makes me nervous. πŸ˜›

  14. Ayesha permalink
    October 12, 2008 9:51 am

    Exquisite: Good people are hard to find! πŸ™‚

    Lol! Asma, you rock! πŸ˜€

  15. Asma permalink
    October 13, 2008 5:37 am

    hehehehe…I know πŸ˜›

  16. Ordinary Girl permalink
    October 13, 2008 9:03 am

    WOW!! Rs. 5000 spent over SRK??!! You must be a really big fan! πŸ™‚

  17. October 13, 2008 6:12 pm

    ahem … now that shysoul has mentioned that price tag on ur Shahruk khan book… hmmm dont u think it’s a bit too pricey , maybe, just maybe?

    it wud perhaps be justifiable if the papers were laminated, then rinsed with an everlasting fragrance, followed by ironing and laminated once again and that too personally by SRK… otherwise, it ain’t worth it πŸ˜›

  18. Ayesha permalink
    October 13, 2008 8:03 pm

    Well OG and Exquisite: I have been saving money for that book for almost a year. I had read about it’s release but it took too long in coming out. It’s basically a coffee table book, with thick, waxy pages, loads of colorful pictures and plethora of information.

    It is one of the heaviest books as well. Like it is heavier than any medical book I had known when my closed one used to study πŸ˜€

    And yes, Exquisite in today’s time, with all the inflation around, I would have never bought it. But back then in Nov of 2006 it just looked right to buy πŸ™‚

  19. sarah083 permalink
    October 14, 2008 2:03 am

    i hate cell phones and cell phones hate me. same goes for pagers. I hate them i hate hate hate pagers:p
    books
    yup love them..
    there is nothing better than a good book

  20. October 14, 2008 3:45 am

    point taken πŸ™‚

    ahem… u can never beat a med book… never ever… there’s always a heavier version u can find of its lighter counterpart, always πŸ˜€

  21. Asma permalink
    October 14, 2008 5:39 am

    hmm – this “exquisite” is a female? First woman i have come across who is criticing Shahrukh khan!!!

    Are you sure this is not a MR Exquisite – every man I know talks like that about the hunky SRK – they are jealous!

  22. Ayesha permalink
    October 14, 2008 6:54 am

    Sarah: Baita how can cell phone hate you? It is the same phone in the picture that connect us. Whenever I want to call it dials your number obediently without saying a word that Cell phone hates Sarah so it won’t get me through πŸ˜›

    Pager is such a passe! πŸ˜•

  23. owais permalink
    October 18, 2008 1:48 am

    “Would you believe I am not jealous of pretty women – One should get inspired and try to look as good as them. ”

    Hey Asma, sorry to pick on you like this. But just writing this comment shows how jealous you can get if a love one of yours talk about a beautiful women. After all its totally normal!:)

  24. Asma permalink
    October 19, 2008 4:08 am

    I dont recall addressing the comment to you at all – It was addressed to my friend Ayesha. Your comment shows how you like to judge people you dont know. Very rude and uncalled for. Not funny at all.

  25. Asma permalink
    October 20, 2008 5:47 am

    Hey Ayesha – Since you know Aadi and I are touchy about funny comments, dont get worried about me losing my temper in here – you know how I am – wont create trouble in here πŸ˜›

  26. Ayesha permalink
    October 20, 2008 4:05 pm

    No worries Asma… I think I know you a bit now πŸ™‚

  27. owais permalink
    October 21, 2008 3:10 am

    Sorry Asma , didn’t know you will take that so seriously!

  28. Asma permalink
    October 24, 2008 5:34 am

    ok.

Leave a Reply

