Skip to content

Constipation of thoughts!

October 7, 2008

Yes, I call it a constipation of thoughts. People call it writer’s block. It’s like you frequent the loo but in vain same is here. It must be the 50th time I picked up paper and pen but nothing is coming forth. As always the idea is there but don’t know how to put it down.

Some wise person said, perhaps Paulo Coelho said so:

Endings are always difficult than beginnings

But in that case it is the beginning that is not forming. I want to write… all that is on my mind. All that is bothering me or making me excited.

Well, I should leave because there is this urge to try once more so I am going to grab my paper and pen once again. Let’s hope the haze covering my mind subsides.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2008 9:25 am

    Same is the case with me but the reason is quite different I guess; mine is more related the ability to write. I somehow lack the ability to embellish sentences the way I like to present them. Its not just about the thought but the structure of it as well. I believe you write more powerfully when it comes to breaking a block.

    Best of luck for your next write up! 🙂

  2. Ayesha permalink
    October 7, 2008 10:56 am

    Thanks Aadil but this time the drought seems severe 😛

  3. October 7, 2008 12:05 pm

    but this is not the case wth me
    i write what i dont have to
    sit on table and write whatever comes in my mind, no tension
    thand mahole, mithay chowle

  4. October 7, 2008 12:35 pm

    Lol. I think that is the way. Sometimes we are too concerned with writing good than just letting it out. Have you had the chance to watch this movie, Finding Forrestor? There is a line, “No thinking – that comes later. You must write your first draft with your heart. You rewrite with your head. The first key to writing is… to write, not to think!”

  5. October 7, 2008 2:26 pm

    I wish I could write…:(

    میرے افکار پہ پہرے نہ بٹھاؤ لوگو
    جزبے کبھی پابندِ سَلاسِل نہیں ہوتے

  6. October 7, 2008 3:52 pm

    Nice title 🙂

  7. October 7, 2008 5:09 pm

    Hello!

    I’m a big fan of Paulo Coelho! You will love this! He’s the first best-selling
    author to be distributing for free his works on his blog:
    http://www.paulocoelhoblog.com

    Have a nice day!

    Aart

  8. October 7, 2008 5:15 pm

    Writer’s block, or constipation 😛 , has been a big problem with me too. For me, it comes supplemented with the inability to recall words that I know and understand perfectly well, both in English and Urdu.

  9. Ayesha permalink
    October 8, 2008 11:17 am

    G: You write well when you do 🙂

    Aart: The site seems interesting.

    Raza: The title is the result of sheer frustration 😛

    Hamxa: I agree cent percent with you.

    DFR: I have already judged you 😛

    SAWJ: I often suffer from it. And it is frustrating when I want to write but can’t otherwise I just chill 🙂

Leave a Reply

