Skip to content

7 Peculiar Things About Me

September 9, 2008

It was like any other day in 3rd standard when my teacher asked what do I like in food. I promptly replied, “Kaddoo” (Squash). She was startled, made a face and thought I was joking. When I said I really do. She asked the whole class, “Kids, do you like to eat Kaddoo?” All of them replied in unison… “No”. Then she told them pointing at me, “She does.” And all of them broke into loud laughter. At that time I wasn’t aware of any word called peculiar or weird but I thought to be one. Years later when we grew up, I read in several books that Holy Prophet (SAW) used to like Kaddoo a lot. I am not sure, that Kaddoo tasted and looked like the same or not but I felt relaxed and happy. Today I am not including that in the list because I know I am not weird to like Kaddoo…

That however doesn’t exempt me from being weird. I call myself a born weird and it is tough to write about all the peculiar things. But it is fune and here is the list 🙂

1) When I was a kid I used to hate dolls. The more I hated them the more I would get them in gifts. Dolls never appealed me. I used to like my brother’s remote control car or plane more. Till date I hate Barbie dolls and all that. So my hatred for dolls turned me quite violent I used to break their legs and arms. My other habit was to paint beard and moustache with marker. I used to undress my dolls to see how she looks (Ahem! No perversion… it was a sheer curiosity). I would even shampoo and brush dolls synthetic hair and that would make her bald. So I used to manhandle dolls and that was because I would hate them. Otherwise I am very careful with the things I like.

2) Tea, yes, Chai is absolute “NO” for me. I never drink tea… I occasionally drink coffee. Once I thought to have a cup of coffee. When I opened the jar… it had turned rock solid 😀 Why?! Well, when you wouldn’t use it for months it is bound to expire… 😛

3) I hate flying but I love planes. I like seeing them in the sky, taking off or landing. Such documentaries are my favorite. But the fact is that I loathe flying. If given a chance I would always travel by road.

4) Now that puts me high up on the list of weird people. I don’t like Henna (mehendi)… actually I appreciate all the designs, the color even when it becomes dark and looks almost black but I can’t stand the smell. I literally begin to puke. I need odorless henna. The sweaty, henna painted palm is a big turn off for me… and when it gives away that peculiar smell. *Urgh*!!!

5) My first ever published story was in my brother’s name. The editor of the Urdu children magazine asked for contributions about any true prank. I wrote down one, the narrator was a young boy. I thought the editor might reject it for an untrue incident if I send it from my name so I put my brother’s name without telling him. I forgot about it but after a couple of months it got published and I got 150 Rs. for it 😀 That was 14 years ago… 😛

6) Do you remember the 1999 release Titanic that took the whole world by storm? Yes, the same movie… now would you believe it I have never watched Titanic from start to finish. Not even once. Why?! No idea. Though I have watched the song My heart will go on countless times. So much so that now I feel I have actually seen the movie. After 9 years I still have no desire to watch it.

7) My PC is only mine. No one else uses it. Still my user account is protected by password. I don’t feel comfortable when someone goes through my files. I wonder there is nothing special yet I don’t feel comfy. I am discreet… just way too much. At times I feel I am hiding from my own self 😛

That’s it from me. I now tag Sarah, Nadeen and Aadil 😛

13 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2008 6:22 pm

    hahha
    kadu lolz….
    I cannot stop myself from laughing.
    Anyways … I will eat it if its cooked well.

    and you are not the only one who did not watch the whole movie.

  2. sarah083 permalink
    September 9, 2008 8:16 pm

    i love tea:)
    and hate dolls…
    i just hate them and i like kareele khost which most people find weird
    welcome to the weird club:d

  3. September 10, 2008 6:12 am

    Very different kind of person you are.

  4. Ayesha permalink
    September 10, 2008 10:09 am

    Sarah as if I don’t know your likes/dislikes 😛

    It’s your turn now… 😉

  5. September 10, 2008 10:38 am

    I understand why someone would hate dolls but you could have gifted them to someone 😀 , instead you kept them for yourself and loathed them, not to mention torturing 😛

    I know a lot of people who cannot stand drinking tea. Personally, I think coffee tastes way harder than tea but depends on the preferences.

    I believe Titanic was overrated 🙂

    And for the last part, being a little too careful about your personal belongings is never a bad idea.

    Thanks for sharing this. Was very intriguing

    Good day!

  6. nayni permalink
    September 10, 2008 3:10 pm

    🙂
    -I never played with dolls in my childhood but just two years back my brothers gifted me doll on my Birthday… It was a doll with a small bag.. I love that doll very much

    – So you’ll not offer me a cup of tea , if I visit you 😦 I love tea 🙂

    – Ayesha dear … I also never painted my hands with Henna … waiting for the right day 😉 … and I wrote a poem about Kashmir when I was in school and guess what … I did not use my real name like you hehehe ..It got published in Children magazine 🙂
    – Titanic… I still have to find some time to watch it 🙂

    Thanx for sharing 7 peculiar things about you 🙂

  7. September 10, 2008 3:52 pm

    I’ll rather have a weird comment and thats about the picture you posted here. Its absolutely fantastic! 🙂 I’m in love with the azure sky with the moon (or the sun?)and the abstractly structured tree trying to hide the moon (or the sun?) from the lookers sight.

    Na .. not a good thing to hide such lovely scenes, o’ good ol tree!

  8. September 10, 2008 3:55 pm

    And lets see if I could dig out a few weird things bout me. Will post it sometime.
    Thanx for tagging me 🙂
    I’m now for sale! 🙂

  9. Ordinary Girl permalink
    September 10, 2008 8:01 pm

    First, I want to pull that teacher’s hair…that was so idiotic of her! 😡

    #1, haiey Allah, such torture! Why?! I also used to love boyish toys, but my toy F-16 and my doll used to live side-by-side peacefully! 😀

    #2, Don’t tell me!! 😯 I think Chai duniya kay har ghum kaa ilaaj hai and you don’t like it! 😮

    #3, I am the other way around, I love flying but I don’t trust flying things…and I got engaged to an air force guy! Go figure! LOL!!

    #4, Haiey Allah, I L-O-V-E that smell! Ah haa, Noor Jahan gatay gatay mar gaiyee “hamari saanso mein aaj tak woh Henna ki khushboo mehak rahi hai” aur yahan logon ku woh khushboo hee nahi pasand! 😛

    #5, Why did you use your brother’s name? You feared gender discrimination? 😕

    Reading your weird list was fun, only 7 but reallt weird! LOL!! 😀

  10. Ayesha permalink
    September 11, 2008 7:54 am

    Thanks Exquisite, Aadil, Nayni and OG!

    Nayni I don’t drink tea doesn’t mean is ban on everyone 😛

    OG: Lol! Man did I tell you how much I dislike Noor Jahan 😀 so her song doesn’t mean much to me.

    No gender discrimination just a fear that the story had turned out well and the editor might reject it for being false. That was just a fear of a young child 🙂

  11. kashkin permalink
    September 12, 2008 3:47 pm

    Absolute klassics

    Throughly enjoyed reading these. From the word kadoo to “hiding myself” in #7

  12. kashkin permalink
    September 12, 2008 3:48 pm

    And also apologies for not being able to visit your blog for quite sometime. But today I shall be going through all the posts on various topics you have been writing on.

  13. Ayesha permalink
    September 13, 2008 7:49 am

    Thanks K! 😛

    It’s okay, do drop by whenever you get time 🙂

Leave a Reply

