Skip to content

Google Chrome

September 5, 2008

 

The much talked about browser by Google has finally been released on 2nd of September. It’s been named Chrome. Like most top browsers it is free to download. So I went ahead and downloaded it.

 

I am very archaic in the sense that despite being dubbed as “Slow” I am a huge fan of Internet Explorer. However, when the browsing gets tedious and as slow as mule I switch to alternate browser. Since beginning, that is when I started using net about ten years ago, I used to download Netscape browser as well. It was (still is) fast. Years later Firefox was introduced that took the market by storm; I think more than half of America uses it. I have tested Firefox as well. It’s fast no doubt and has beaten Netscape in fast browsing.

 

“Fastness” is what a user looks for. Chrome has been publicized as fast, easy yet sophisticated to use. After hearing it from a friend and reading about it on the Google website I thought to give it a try. It is very simple to use – has interesting features more or less the same what Netscape, IE and Firefox offers but I like it for its fresh and neat look.

 

Some people have experienced problems with Chrome. I browsed for an hour and to me it looked absolutely fine and fast. It’s a BETA release which means it has a long way to go but still it seems very useful, workable and quick. I didn’t like one thing though that it saves a complete browsing history… something I don’t prefer. You can delete it but it feels cumbersome.

 

So now I have five browsers; IE, Netscape, Firefox, Opera and Chrome. Opera is quick too but it can’t display some websites properly. From now on it is either IE or Chrome for me.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2008 10:59 am

    I currently have 3 browsers on my machine, Firefox, Flock and old faithful IE, and am continually flitting from one to another! I may give chrome a try after reading this…

    Love the theme, by the way, it’s the same as mine!

  2. Ayesha permalink
    September 5, 2008 11:19 am

    Give it a try! You may like it🙂

  3. September 5, 2008 12:25 pm

    I currently have Firefox 3, IE 7 and Chrome on my machine, and I like all of them except IE. IE seems slow, and compared to Firefox and Chrome, ugly. I’ve been posting my experience with chrome on my website day by day, so if you want to check it out click my name.

  4. Ordinary girl permalink
    September 5, 2008 4:28 pm

    For everything I have heard about it, I might download it and try.🙂

  5. Ayesha permalink
    September 5, 2008 11:03 pm

    🙂

  6. September 6, 2008 1:17 am

    I am hooked to Firefox because of its simplicity and the plethora of add-ons that it offers.

    Chrome seems promising but I will wait till the full version shows up.

    IE would remain always an antique, it sits there on my desktop yearning to be used😀

  7. Ayesha permalink
    September 6, 2008 1:29 am

    I still have to develop liking for firefox😛

  8. September 6, 2008 2:47 am

    Oh you will, don’t worry. Unless Chrome comes up with something extraordinary, Firefox has to do the job for me.😀

  9. Ayesha permalink
    September 6, 2008 5:26 am

    I don’t like the font display of Netscape, Firefox, Opera and Chrome :S

    I use Firefox. It’s good🙂

  10. September 6, 2008 8:26 am

    I will have a look at it – sounds interesting🙂

Leave a Reply

