Skip to content

I Envy Her…

August 30, 2008

Late eighties

A classroom

Stuffed with 50 odd kids

I saw her

With dried egg yolk

Sticking to the corner of her lip

 

Our journey as class fellows

Continued… until college

Years later I heard she moved out

Now she lives in your city

Where I wanted to be

She breathes the same air as you do

Sees the same scenes

She walks on the same pavements

Feels the same feelings

 

When I think of that

A wave of envy travels

Through my veins

I often think

That could have been me

In her shoes

In your city

 

Drowned in such thoughts

I recall her standing next to me

In that silly school race

The whistle blew

We ran

And we both lost

 

Did I compete with her ever?

No… never

But I can’t shrug off the thought

   That she beat me in the race of time and life…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2008 6:00 am

    hmm…Interesting…but its a fact, being in the same city even, people usually never run into each other…big world😛

    Better to not compete with a person who doesnt wash their face after having lunch – especially eggs –😦

  2. August 31, 2008 7:20 am

    ‘the race of time and life’
    Nice!!

  3. September 1, 2008 8:48 am

    Nice stuff Ayesha

  4. Ayesha permalink
    September 2, 2008 12:01 pm

    Thank you all!🙂

    Nadeen: It indeed is a big turn off but kids are exception especially who tend to eat during the class😉

  5. September 4, 2008 8:06 am

    hmmm… class time munching…
    i’m feeling the roza now :S

Leave a Reply

