Skip to content

Obituary

August 20, 2008

Just got the news that Uncle B passed away! He was seriously ill from the past so many months. I was mentally prepared but still death leaves you speechless, in shock of strange kind. Uncle B is my mom’s cousin’s husband. That makes him our close relative. I especially have attachment with that aunt since she helped me a lot physically and emotionally during my mom’s passing. I called her up. The only call I made that evening.

 

Today she called us. Thankfully I didn’t receive the call. My father has left to attend janaza. He’d be buried close to my mom in the same cemetery. I want to share this grief with someone. Someone… close… but it is mid-night over there.

 

May his soul rest in peace! Ameen!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2008 10:59 am

    Very sorry! Inna LiAllah-e-wa-inna elaih-e-rajeoon!
    May his soul rest in peace! Amen!

  2. bmk permalink
    August 20, 2008 3:28 pm

    I pray that you & the family have the strength to cope with the loss.

    To Allah we belong and to Him is our return.

  3. Ordinary girl permalink
    August 20, 2008 6:50 pm

    Inna lillahe wa-inna elaihe rajeoon!! May Allah grant his family Sabr to bear this loss.

  4. August 20, 2008 9:57 pm

    Very sorry yaar – May Allah support his family.

  5. kashkin permalink
    August 20, 2008 11:11 pm

    Hey Ayesha,
    Indeed we will all go to the One who created us and if we truly believe in him, then we must also believe that the joy of life and loss in death and the journey in between is all what constitutes our existence.

    So very sorry to hear about Uncle B. May Allah bless his soul and to those his near and far “himmat” to bear this loss.

    I know its not very easy; All the words at one’s disposal still will not help console you and others around you but it is that ultimate reality that exists within us, to realise one day we have to go as well.

  6. kashkin permalink
    August 20, 2008 11:46 pm

    Few more, the words and expression of our claims to existence and the whole concept of death.

    Within My Reach

    One day, I will cease to exist
    For this world, a specific moment
    A memory or perhaps nothing
    To become what I became
    From dust to dust, in my remains

    Is this the end, to this beauty?
    We call life or just the beginning
    We cannot imagine or conjecture
    That we once existed, as light
    I thought I will never die
    Remain I will immortal, only to find
    This existence and me
    Only a reflection, only a shadow
    In this time, in this space,
    In this grand design, out of our reach

    Only within us, the divine moments
    In our reach, the stitched memories
    Frozen in world on the move,
    Like butterfly’s wings, in the dreams
    Amidst purity and beauty for a while
    Longer these moments than whole life
    It is in my nature, to rebel, and to accept
    As I greet you, to take it away,
    My soul, the journey back home
    Millions of years now within my reach!

    Kashkin

  7. August 21, 2008 9:02 am

    K can write a poem on demand – fascinating! 😛

  8. August 21, 2008 9:03 am

    Hey Ash – how are you holding up – come on line yaar – missing you!

  9. August 21, 2008 9:07 am

    I am dying now
    My time has come
    But all that I feel is relief!

    Relief that this agony of waiting will be over;

    That I shall finally be able to sleep!

    A deep sleep,
    a peaceful slumber,
    and maybe angels will come to meet me;

    I hope they will –
    I wait for them now;
    My real friends in my eternity!

  10. August 21, 2008 4:22 pm

    May you find strength in such times. Ameen!

  11. Ayesha permalink
    August 21, 2008 5:22 pm

    Thank you all for condolences!

    That was a great poem K… thank you for posting it here as well.

    Nadeen I am fine… was just a little busy.

  12. August 22, 2008 6:07 am

    Take care 🙂

  13. nayni permalink
    August 22, 2008 12:18 pm

    May his soul rest in peace!

  14. Ayesha permalink
    August 22, 2008 12:54 pm

    Thanks Nayni!

  15. August 24, 2008 7:03 am

    May Allah (swt) bless his soul in Jannah.. Amin!

    I can understand your feelings and pray for you to come out of depression.

  16. Ayesha permalink
    August 24, 2008 7:27 pm

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

