Skip to content

Dr. Shahid Masood

July 19, 2008

It was 2002 when I started watching a show called Views on News. It was presented by an unknown person with a gift of gab and in a couple of shows he proved that he was different from the rest. I had never before heard such an in depth analysis and news that others would rarely discuss. His program on ARY One World went off the air many times. Later on he disappeared for a couple of months and then I saw him on Geo. In one of his earlier shows he claimed that he was sacked by ARY. He even claimed to have declined the Pride of Performance award.

 

The government never appreciated Geo’s support for judges and once again pressurized Dubai authorities to take Geo off the air. They refused to do so but Dr. Shahid’s show went off air again. Then I heard unbelievable news that Dr. Shahid has been appointed PTV’s chairman. My mind is buzzing with questions. Why would anyone who always believed in voicing his opinion would accept such a job where he knows he won’t achieve anything except big bucks.

 

Why someone who was so critical of the President and all the ministers/politicians by and large would end up working under them in a capacity when his hands and tongue would be tied. Is this a move for survival since he could have been sacked by Geo as well or something else?

 

Is Dr. Shahid like every other person, we categorize as corrupt and opportunist? Did he think he would take up this job and make a difference something that is impossible under the government’s setup?

 

I don’t know who’s wrong and who’s right but lately I have been reading some negative stuff about him. And if he come up with his own show again, I think I would never trust his words they way I used to do.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2008 11:24 am

    Dr Masood may be a brilliant analyst but is rather lacking in social graces – That is why I keep saying – people please promote good social behavior in society – when people learn manners – society will improve – He is rather rude to those he interviews.

    PTV has a very conservative thinking – I have always liked PTV for its calm and cultured style.

  2. Ayesha permalink
    July 19, 2008 11:36 am

    Well Nadeen I never mind his behavior. He would be forthright. And PTV is graceful because you can never have the liberty to ask what’s on your mind. You will have to present the government’s view and tell the world that all is going well.

    Apparently, Dr. Shahid refused to give too much air time to PPP. But still how is that going to help us. He started off with an independant media, criticizing, showing us their real picture and then he ended up working under the same people.

  3. nayni permalink
    July 19, 2008 8:20 pm

    Just one thought…

    PTV is the only channel that is being viewed in every part of the Pakistan. May be Dr. Shahid wants to avail the oppurtunity to create awareness in common masses of Pakistan.May be he wants to show true or near to true picture of political scene of Pakistan to a Pakistani who has no access to “cable” .
    May be he will not be able to do wonders , still he can do alot to take out Pakistani nation from state of ” Sab Acha hae “. And even if he will have to leave PTV by the orders of new government , still I think he will be satisfied for that he had given new dimensions to PTV and had shown a new face of media to common people of Pakistan.

    ( Ub inside story kya hae n wt is in the heart of Dr. Sahib ….I don’t know …I’m just trying to be optimistic hehehe)

  4. July 20, 2008 4:40 am

    Yaar – When Ary fired him, he came on GEO – he came and did a program on how ARY had been unfair on him – What will he do if he is not successful in PTV?

    I still maintain that a pushy talk host is harassing the people in the interview – One can ask same things less aggressively too – I have nothing against what he says – he is blunt and questions life, no harm in that – but very aggressive body language – It is worse on GEO – It was better on ARY.

    The violence in the Hosts on the TV is not vey amusing – thats all girls – Lets hope PTV improves with him around.

  5. July 21, 2008 10:37 am

    Dr saheb personaly I like him coz he’s enough brave to ask any question to our leaders. The talks which are going in streets, the questions which arises among comman men he uses to ask our political leaders.
    But I can’t understand his this move.

  6. Ayesha permalink
    July 21, 2008 1:16 pm

    Thank you all for dropping in. I have been away!

    Nayni, Optimisim haan 😛

    Nadeen, I like the new face of our news media. I agree at times they go over board but really these corrupt politicians should be grilled that way. That is least ordianry people can do to them.

    MZ, I am also wondering. Really… didn’t understand his move. Ironically he refused the civil award but accepted this post.

  7. July 21, 2008 1:37 pm

    Dr Saaabb…
    Was good when he aired on ARY and on GEO as well in his early shows. Probably he could won viewer ship at large because there was a complex equation of availability of anchors and medium. I started off well discussing some dont-talk-about aspects of some issues. I watched, I admired then I was used to think what would he do ahead and how long he would go. Disappointment.
    He joined GEO because he wanted to be on air and nothing else. He joined and then got realized about policies and objectives of GEO which I have always suspected. Com’n Hamid Mir is considered to be <> there and GEO’s analysts are talking like GeoRobot. Nothing is good there.

    Now Dr Sb. is at PTV and I dont like it at all, not because PTV is been depriving whole nation from facts and issues, no! But because PTV was the only trained and learned media I would prefer over all, to some extent. PTV’s standard is on decline but Dr. Sb.’s appointment is seems to be last nail in its coffin. PTV still IS the guiding principle and role model for media, every network learns from it. All premier anchor persons are well trained by PTV only, take Nusrat and Talat as examples. But lately this new breed of emotionally yellowish journalists is spread like Dengie fever on all over media in Pakistan. Dr. Sb. is probably one of its pioneer and Kamran Khan tries to be its north star. I like Bolta Pakistan not because I also like Mushtaq Minhas but I am used to take goods with bads.
    On the other hand it Dr. Sb might be thinking wisely and trying to learn at last. So its a good opportunity for him to take some thing from PTV rather than enforcing his thoughts there which I can imagine would be disaster.
    Good Luck Dr. Sb!

  8. July 21, 2008 1:47 pm

    <>= XHTML errrrg.

    i.e. The guy like Hamid Mir is considered to be a leading media person there and what he knows and what he has learned? I remember in college days when he was sitting outside PTV Lahore office all day long for some comments from Actors etc.
    khekhekhe it reminds me when I had few roles in PTV dramas as a teenager.

  9. Ayesha permalink
    July 21, 2008 1:53 pm

    LOL!

    Really Goonga can you name the dramas? 😛

    Well I think Dr. Shahid was different and and decent in presenting his shows. I learned a lot from him in terms of Int. Affairs and how to approach certain matters.

    Hamid Mir! I hate the paper he was editor of… Ausaaf … sensational, faulty and wrong news is another name for Ausaaf 🙂

  10. July 22, 2008 4:53 am

    …mmm Wafa, Pathar…. dont remember names of all. Anyways not very popular ones. I wonder how much my mind is occupied by things happening lately. Older are erased.

  11. Ayesha permalink
    July 22, 2008 4:19 pm

    Yeah it happens with all of us when you complete silver jubliee of life… 😛

    Well, I am afriad I can’t recall these plays :-S

    I used to watch PTV plays (8:00 PM) but yeah things have erased from my mind too 😀

  12. Ordinary girl permalink
    July 22, 2008 9:35 pm

    Haven’t heard anything about Dr. Shahid Masood joining PTV? Seems impossible. If he can do Bibi Shaheed, Bibi Shaheed all the time, then maybe he’ll manage at PTV.

    And I agree, PTV is STILL the role model for media. At least PTV doesn’t have Urdu spelling mistakes in its news strips, unlike some of our popular channels! 😛

    @ Goonga
    Hey, wasn’t Wafa that Kashmir drama? About Hazrat Bal?

  13. Ayesha permalink
    July 22, 2008 11:44 pm

    He has joined 😀
    At first I too didn’t believe but then checked the news.

    Yeah now I rememeber parts of that play about Hazrat Bal.

  14. July 23, 2008 5:06 am

    Yes Wafa was a drama about kashmiris’ struggle, Mehmood Aslam and dashing Lala-Ruhh along with Mustafa Qureshi’s first ever appearance on TV.

  15. July 23, 2008 6:58 am

    Interesting – Hey G – What was your name in the drama – I will dig it up just to see what you looked like back then – and have a good time reminding you on it 😛

  16. July 23, 2008 11:08 am

    🙂 Abid Bhatt, young kashmiri student in a group led by mehmood aslam.

  17. kashkin permalink
    July 23, 2008 11:32 pm

    I have always had some serious reservations about Dr Shahid Masood…Right from the moment when he published his book up till now…The book ” end of time” was a plagrised version of Harun Yayua, documentary and many others sources which he never disclosed hoping that no one will find out..

    Secondly, the approach he used in questioning others…..too soft and emotional rather than fact based and challenging…

    well lets see what his presence in PTV brings?

  18. Ayesha permalink
    July 24, 2008 10:41 am

    Goonga: I remember very little of that play. So it is impossible for me to recall that character unless and until I see it again 😀

    K: I liked him but I didn’t know he had written a book too. I had watched his show The End of Times, that was ok.

    Well, how people wear masks amazes me :-S

  19. fahad permalink
    August 21, 2008 5:36 pm

    Hi All,

    I know Dr Shahid Masood very well, we used to study together for fellowship examination, i know him so well, he used to stay at my home, he is fenetic PPP worker, I give you example, one night at Dublin Hotel in 1999 we started making Joke about Benazir Bhutto, he became very angry aand went down from 4th fllor to ground to sleep in Lobby. He is in Media because of Asif Zardari, he came to UK and I advised him to see Zardari regarding postion in Pakistan Channel( now ARY) because it was owned by Jawed Pasha, good friend of Zardari, I can expose this person more if anyone intrested.

  20. haris permalink
    August 31, 2008 12:03 pm

    He Fahad,
    I know another person who knows him well because he was his room mate in UK somewhere and who is also a doctor.

    Many things I know about Dr. Shahid from that doctor. But I established my opinion regarding him by watching his programs.

    Even though I don’t like PPP and neither Late Banazir Bhutto but still think that many of the Pakistani people like her to we have to give respect. As my political believes are my own and every one has the right to have it.

    I think and hope the Dr. Shahid’s presence in PTV will make the difference. I like his aggressive style and In depth analysis. It make’s him different from others.

Leave a Reply

