Skip to content

Things I relate to…

July 12, 2008

§  Vital Signs  à Summers, 1991, 1993, Islamabad, Abbotabad, Geetar 93.

§  Corn à My school’s green-eyed, old and cranky corn-seller (The one buried and roasted in sand) :-S

§  Samosa + Kheer à Mother. Don’t know why, why she got me addicted to kheer (she used to make) in the last months.

§  Blogging à She

§  Bagh-e-Naraan à 13th

§  Summer Vacation à Loads of stories and magazines. Afternoons.

§  Driveway à BMX (Bicycle) I miss cycling too much!

§  The alphabet M à Pain

§  Air conditioned room à Cigarette. My uncle used to smoke a lot and the smell of that tobacco in the chilled room is still alive in my memory.

§  Indian Movies à SRK. The one and only for me. I started watching movies because of him.

§  Lahore à College trip. Friends.

§ London à 13th. And lots of other people who lost significance with time ended up there :-S

§ November, 2006 à Tears

§ The year 2007 à Hope

§ United States à 9/11

§  Morning à Optimism

§ Night à Creative writing

§  80s à Zia. Though I don’t remember anything from that time. Refreshed memory later on by watching documentaries about him.

§ Windows Live Messenger à She

§ Internet à Butt sahib… hehehehehe

 

16 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2008 11:20 am

    Butt sahab koun hai 😛 – I was in Murree on vacation the night Zia died – We heard the news on Mall road and checked out early the next day – Very early morning!

  2. July 13, 2008 11:22 am

    Put link of this blog on Akhbaar under new column I wrote today – HAMAARI KHABRAIN – hope you dont have copyright issues 😉

  3. Ayesha permalink
    July 13, 2008 11:42 am

    Nadeen: Hain nahi thay Butt sahib koi 😛
    You can link it no problem. And I was a kid, playing and talking in the lounch and my father was glued to TV. That’s all I remember. Wow! I was a child so had no idea what has happened and what’ll be it’s impact.

  4. July 13, 2008 7:31 pm

    Butt sahab – you got rid of him too?

    Naughty one! 😛

  5. July 14, 2008 3:25 am

    hmm … vital signs … I loved the band and junaid and still I sing JJ’s songs whenever I’m down in spirits..

  6. Ayesha permalink
    July 14, 2008 8:53 am

    Which songs you sing… when you are down?

    I too like them… it’s classic of Pakistani pop.

  7. July 14, 2008 9:33 am

    They are too many … like Aitbar … Hum Tum Jiay Ja Rahay Hain … ye Sham … Ajnabi … Har Ek Na Mumkin Mumkin Hua … Aaj Ka Kehna Mano … and many many more … all of them reminds me something soothing ..

  8. Hawk permalink
    July 14, 2008 3:18 pm

    I go for Someone’s Watching Over Me by Hilary Duff

  9. Ayesha permalink
    July 14, 2008 5:14 pm

    My all time favorite from VS is :Tum mil gaye:

    Hawk, I am not much into English music.

  10. Ordinary girl permalink
    July 15, 2008 12:15 am

    Hein?? Butt sahib??! Is it got to do something with MY Butt sahib? 😀

    Can’t remember anything about Zia. Nor about Vital Signs, other than Dil Dil Pakistan 🙂

  11. Ayesha permalink
    July 15, 2008 7:44 am

    Well thanks to media and archives that keep people alive even when they are no more 😛

  12. Hawk permalink
    July 15, 2008 9:06 am

    Ayesha I understand you may not be in English music but you can go thru the lyrics at least

    http://www.metrolyrics.com/someones-watching-over-me-lyrics-hilary-duff.html

    otherwise the video is at

    Believe me it is worth checking out !

    BTW VS was/is all time my favorite too.

  13. bmkdot permalink
    July 15, 2008 1:35 pm

    butt sahib’s become a mystery…

    § Vital Signs – Hum rahay ra’hi, aik hee rah K
    § Bagh-e-Naraan – The lonely parinday there
    § Internet – Wasting hell of time online in Univ.
    § Only Samosa – butt sahib not Aeysha’s but Lakshmi Chowk vala.

  14. Ayesha permalink
    July 15, 2008 3:20 pm

    Hawk, I did check the song means I wactched it and it’s really nice… thanks for sharing 🙂

    BMK: I had no idea that Butt sahib would catch so much attention… hehehehehe

    For me VS is = Yeh shaam phir nahi aayege and Tum mil gaye

    Well, lonely parinday you mean taouss 😛

  15. bmkdot permalink
    July 16, 2008 11:53 am

    dunno vat they are called, perhaps ab tau marhoom ho chukay hain saaray… it’s quite long to visit now…

    butt saab… yes but still u r keeping it a mystery. 🙂

  16. Ayesha permalink
    July 16, 2008 4:40 pm

    Well there are lots of taouss Peacocks there, healthy and fine. I haven’t seen any other birds.

    Well, Butt sahib is hit like a movie… hehehehehe

Leave a Reply

