Skip to content

Manto

July 8, 2008
tags: ,

It is unanimously agreed that Manto was a great storyteller. I had heard his name quite a lot but my first brush with his short stories was in BA. One of our friends had got his book issued from the library. One day she asked me to read certain lines from one of his stories. I read, blushed and closed the book. Yes, I was so immature even in BA.

Years later I thought of buying his books. I bought the one called, “Manto Key Dus Behtareen Afsanay”.

I agree Manto is a great storyteller but his stories are so haunting and have depressive quality. That is right people see the obscene words and bold description but not the depth his stories carry.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2008 12:20 pm

    Few daz back I read “kali shalwar” of Manto, believe I thought a lot to understand but in vain. When I see society, I think, we are not groomed in a proper way.

  2. Ayesha permalink
    July 8, 2008 2:22 pm

    It’s difficult to understand these writers at times. We can come up with our own explanations.

  3. August 10, 2008 9:18 pm

    You may enjoy reading the biographical essay I wrote about Manto for a magazine sometime back (avilable on my website).

  4. Ayesha permalink
    August 10, 2008 9:25 pm

    I checked some of your essays. They are really nice. I especially liked your website about the history of Pakistan. I will be checking it off and on…
    Thanks for stopping by!

Trackbacks

  1. Two Unforgettable Books | Tea Break

Leave a Reply

