Skip to content

12:30 AM

July 8, 2008

Trrn… Trrn. My cell phone light up. With half opened blurry eyes I turned it on and said, “Hello!”

His voice felt like a breeze in the burning desert. Like a shelter in the sweltering summer.

“Were you sleeping?”

“Yes!”

“Okay we’ll talk tomorrow.”

“Hopefully”

There are certain things to tell you. I thought.

I hung up.

Heck! Seems as if my feet are on the hot frying pan. The weather has been changed girl! I reminded myself. You can’t go to bed with the socks on… even nights are getting warm. If the sun shone like that for a few more days, I’ll have to start fan.

I took off the socks.

Rain! Rain! Rain! I want rain.

“What weather you like?”

An interviewer’s voice rang in my ears.

“Monsoon”

“Why?”

“Because I like rain.”

Last monsoon had been dry here. This spring too has been relatively dry. Hopefully it isn’t alarming. There won’t be any drought or famine. Allah is kind to us. People are cruel. They kill each other with bombs.

Bombs!

I got terrified… and my grip tightened around the cell phone. I was still holding it. The silver, metal body getting warm in my sweaty hand.

“Go back to sleep!”

“Mom?!…did I hear you?”

Chanda mama dur ke
Bade pakain boor ke
Aap khaina thali main
Munay ko dain piyali main
Piyali gai toot
Chanda ma gaye rooth
Piyali aye aur
Chanda ma aaye dor!

Yes, it is her humming to young Ans.

“Go back to sleep…” She patted on my shoulder.

“How is your wrist now? Is it still painful?”

“There is no pain where I am.”

“Then why do I feel so much pain?”

Silence!

Vagueness!

Hazy mind!

The question remained unanswered… I had gone back to sleep.

(At times I like being repetitive)

Note: Painting by Faiqaz

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2008 11:50 am

    We always call for our mother – I wonder why?

    My aunt was like my mother – she died when I was 6 – dont remember much now. My mum is like a khala actually – like a friend.

  2. Ayesha permalink
    July 8, 2008 2:17 pm

    I wonder too! May be the sense of security that mother can give no one can.

  3. Hawk permalink
    July 11, 2008 5:50 pm

    Once I was viewing a tv serial and there was an actress who was like asking to the teacher, why I can’t be like others and enjoy things and the teacher relied that is because you are over sensitive, being over sensitive have its advantages but there are disadvantages too.

    for example you keep worrying your mind more, though it is for good but bad for your health. Sometimes it makes you incompatible with the masses too. Over sensitive people though should be take more care of by the society as they are rare, but who cares !

  4. Ayesha permalink
    July 11, 2008 9:17 pm

    I believe a writer has to be over sensitive to concieve things that others can’t.

    Other than that, one should be strong enough emotionally.

  5. Hawk permalink
    July 12, 2008 6:34 am

    Agreed.

Leave a Reply

