Skip to content

Shangri-La

July 5, 2008

I am in search of Shangri-La – where all the characters of my story live merrily and peacefully – where they shed tears only when they are extremely happy. Does that sort of place exist on this planet? Perhaps it does only in James’ and my imagination.  

The images swirl in my mind like a twister. I close my eyes. There I stand right behind my closed eye lids. It’s like my soul has become a mirror where I can see my own reflection. I live in the world where nothing hurts… nothing – not even when you fall in the deep ravine.

There are two me. The one who is sitting cross-legged with eyes closed. The other one roaming in the worlds heard of yet unknown. My mind’s eye is active as ever. The scenes are in motion on the intangible screen. There is a vast prairie covered with dandelions – as if a woman clad in green has taken a yellow chaddar.

The scene changes – three crazy girls are chatting under the guava tree. The guavas are not ripe yet it’s fun eating. I offered her mine, half eaten. She sinks her teeth in. The remains of my saliva dissolve in her mouth. She smiles.

The scene changes – I stop by a lake, shrouded in mist. I drink water that tastes like an elixir. I can’t afford the luxury of stopping over for long to enjoy. I have to move on. Remember I was in search of Shangri-La.

The scene changes – a Zen is walking at a pace neither brisk nor slow. His wooden stick makes hollow sound when he hits it on the ground. He too seems to be in search of the world that is peaceful, merrier like a paradise. I want to talk to him. I ask him where is Shangri-La. He looks at me with his round, shiny button like eyes and says Shangri-La exists in my heart. I am astounded.

The scene changes – I am cycling down the hill. What if the brakes fail? I shudder. Do I need to worry when I am in world where nothing hurts?

I open my eyes. There is nothing except for a pine tree I can see out of my room window. One day perhaps… Shangri-La would exist in my heart too.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2008 9:22 pm

    Interesting – It sounds like a meditative routine – I have heard people do that to relax – close your eyes and go toplaces unknown.

  2. Ayesha permalink
    July 5, 2008 9:25 pm

    Yes, Nadeen you are right. It’s about meditation and the quest for peace.

  3. Kashkin permalink
    July 6, 2008 12:58 am

    This Shangrila exists in us all, it existed in James as he saw it in Hunza.Valley of Hunza is the only place historian, artists and writers have long debated to be that place which became the prototype for Shangrila…

    But the important question remains which I have asked myself; Will I ever want to find that place in my quest..as finding that place will mean the end to a journey or the beginning one wonders….

    Beautiful thoughts Ayesha….good work

  4. Ayesha permalink
    July 6, 2008 9:07 am

    Thanks K!

    Yes, it’s a quest. Physically one should carry on the journey but spiritually it should exist in our hearts 🙂

  5. July 6, 2008 10:44 am

    I have a theory – I used to meditate a long time ago – went to nice places in my mind – but it bacame harmful in the sense that the real world stopped feeling real and good – It became boring – So I stopped and started living in today and now – So now what makes me happy is right here in this life, concrete and something within my grasp – no day dreaming and unpractical futuristic plans –
    When I need to seek peace, i meditate on my religion, I think about what I am supposed to do here – about life and how GOD must be managing it, what a great administrator HE is – and am I really doing what HE wants – I am not religious at all – dont get me wrong – I just like to think about the organisation of things – to study systems and how they work – any kind of a running system – and that keeps me anchored to reality.

  6. Ayesha permalink
    July 6, 2008 12:14 pm

    Right! And excess of everything is bad anyway 😛

    BTW, it was all fiction. Just came in my mind and I wrote it down. I do believe meditation is good. And through meditation one can achieve peace of heart and mind.

  7. July 6, 2008 7:27 pm

    On the subject of meditation, there is a good excercise – lie down flat and beath in and out real deep – soon you go into a relaxed frame of mind – I do it sometimes to help for my asthma. It strengthens the lungs!

  8. Ayesha permalink
    July 6, 2008 8:43 pm

    Sounds nice will try it sometime!

  9. Kashkin permalink
    July 6, 2008 11:43 pm

    good meditation therapy…..Nadeen

  10. July 8, 2008 4:10 am

    A very good write up! It carried one’s imagination along. Quite philosophical as well!

    Go well!

  11. Ayesha permalink
    July 8, 2008 9:37 am

    Thanks Aadil!

    Yes, it’s all about imagination, meditation and the philosophy that the world of happiness can exist in our hearts actually!

Leave a Reply

