Skip to content

Trojan

June 29, 2008

Have been fighting with it since two days. Thank God! the computer was saved from irreparable loss.

Points to note: Never use items such a USB devices, CDs, DVDs offering downloads unless you are sure it is safe and tested. Keep your anti virus programme up to date so in case of any intrusion you are warned.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2008 6:06 am

    Always back up files – also use version of windows XP that can quarantine a virus!

  2. Ayesha permalink
    June 30, 2008 11:20 am

    Nadeen how I can have back up files and then retrieve them? Tell me the procedure.

    Yes, I have the original version of XP (not the pirated one commonly available here).

  3. June 30, 2008 9:10 pm

    I use a flash drive – 2 GB right now – shall upgrade later – make back up means save files on a flash drive or a disc so that data is duplicated – that way you dont worry too much if the hard drive gives way.

  4. Ayesha permalink
    June 30, 2008 10:16 pm

    I do save files/photos to a disc. But I have so much stuff on my computer that I should update my CD everyday 😛

  5. Kashkin permalink
    July 3, 2008 12:23 am

    Hey Ayesha
    The best way is to get yourself a portable 2.5″ inch portable USB flash..They are very cheap nowadays….You can carry them with you whereever you go. I carry 80Gig with me….problems solved…

    backing up on CDs is a nightmare as it will consume a lot of time..With portable flash, just plug into the USB port, and transfer at a wire speed.

    K

  6. Ayesha permalink
    July 3, 2008 9:35 am

    K

    I’ll sure do that, you know my cousin gave me USB flash (2GB) that had some stuff on it. He asked me to save it to my computer. I did and guess what it had virus. I later came to know he had bought it from one of his friends and I think he doesn’t realize that it carries a bunch of viruses.

    Will sure look for a brand new. Any nice company/brand (you’d like to recommend)?

  7. Kashkin permalink
    July 3, 2008 2:29 pm

    Go for Western Digital..they are very good

  8. Ayesha permalink
    July 3, 2008 2:42 pm

    I’ll keep that in mind, thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

