Skip to content

The Stranger

June 24, 2008

I only have thoughts

That become words

Scattered like the countless coins on the floor of  a shrine

The words that clink and make soul stirring sounds

The words when mingled together

Paint a picture that completes me

That’s the world inside me

  That’s the identity I can relate to

6 Comments leave one →
  1. shobig permalink
    June 25, 2008 3:15 am

    Beautiful! Inspired by Faiz’s poem below?

    mera dard naghma-e-beysada
    meri zaat zarra-e-beynishaaN

    meray dard ko jo zubaaN milay
    mujhay apna naam-o-nishaaN milay

    meri zaat ka jo nishaaN milay
    mujhay raaz-e-nazm-e-jahaaN milay

    jo mujhay ye raaz-e-nihaaN milay
    meri khamashi ko bayaaN milay

    mujhay kaeynaat ki sarwari
    mujhay daulat-e-dau-jahaaN milay

  2. Ayesha permalink
    June 25, 2008 8:44 am

    Faiz’ Nuskha Hai Wafa always stays on my shelf. I do read it sometimes. But I am not good at it.

    So My inspiration didn’t come from there. I was sitting, an old scene from the shrine came to my mind. I don’t have identity issues (at least so far) so wrote that down. That’s my true world.

    Thanks for dropping in!

  3. kashkin permalink
    June 27, 2008 3:18 pm

    beautifully constructed…the concept of coins in the shrine and its effect related to words, thoughts and of the process which leads towards completion and understanding.,.

    A very good effort Ayesha….

  4. Ayesha permalink
    June 27, 2008 7:08 pm

    Thank you K!

  5. June 30, 2008 6:14 am

    Its really good – the flow of words is very good – also you have connected it all to one thought – that is important when you are writing without rhyming.

  6. Ayesha permalink
    June 30, 2008 11:25 am

    Thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

