Skip to content

Hoarder

June 19, 2008

I am a hoarder. I collect things; useless stuff that I think could be useful. I am on a cleaning spree these days. Cleaning drawers, cupboards, shelves and even my computer files. When I look at myself I realize that I have the maximum belongings in home. And most of them are books or magazine. I started reading at 6. At that time I could hardly read but would emulate my brother who would read Urdu magazines for children like Taleem-O-Tarbiat, Bachon Ka Bagh, Naunihal etc. For me those magazines and stories were too lengthy to read. So I started from 25 ana and 50 ana stories of Omro Ayyar and Tarzan mostly.

 

I still have most of those stories somewhere. And I don’t want to part from it for as long as I can. It reminds me of those long summer afternoons when my brother and I would read and chew Naz pan masala.

 

I’d try to take pictures and post them here sometime. For now I am posting a picture of two stories (novels) for children. I would love to read that pulp fiction and it almost landed me into trouble when dad found out that I read stories with such gory titles… 😀

 

 

19 Comments leave one →
  1. nayni permalink
    June 19, 2008 4:11 pm

    hehehehehe…………..
    You ‘ve reminded me my dayz hehehe…Umru Ayyar ..Imran Series..Inspector Jameshed Series..Nounehal..Taleem-o-tabreat… magazines for kids ( of different newspapers )…Umbar Maria Naag … Dastan-e-Ameer Hamza …:) buhut buhut maza aata thaa… I used to think that I was Julia of Ali Imran … and Maria to whom nobody could seen…. wife of Umru Ayyar who was having precious things gifted by her hubby hahaha…I was always jealous of “Zanbeel: of Umru Ayyar with everything in that… You know I was so impressed by Umru’z zanbeel dat even now in my bag lot of things can be find ( ofcourse expect bucka ..hehehe )….

    Thank you sooooooooooooooooo much for reminding that beautiful time… tomorrow I’ll try to get some stories like that to read 😉

  2. Kashkin permalink
    June 20, 2008 12:51 am

    Not to forget Aadi pehlawan…oh man, the famous zanbeel of Umru takes one back to their distant past and memories..

    beautiful

  3. June 20, 2008 3:14 am

    In my school age I would love to read the stories of Umru Ayyar and Imran series and in the college years my interest shifted to Jasoosi and Suspense digests. I’d devour most of the stories in one go. Reading those stories was a good exercise for the imagination to fly.

  4. nayni permalink
    June 20, 2008 4:38 am

    I’ve also strated to write short stories and poetry 🙂 ub itna purha hae tu “purhana” bhi tu hae naa hehehehehehe

    I would luv to have ur comments on my “takhleeqat”

    Plz check it out..

    http://www.nayni.com

  5. shobig permalink
    June 20, 2008 5:02 am

    aik tha laRka taut-bataut
    baap tha us ka meem-salaut
    peeta tha wo soda-water
    khaata tha baadaam akhroy

    😛

    I used to wish I had Umro Ayyar’s zambeel for my school bag.

  6. June 20, 2008 6:04 am

    hmm…Umru ayar seems to be the most popular in here – some guy he was – real naughty – 🙂

    Very good article ayesha – took us back in time – we all seem to have read the same books – thats really something!

  7. June 20, 2008 6:06 am

    Excellent pictures – I had a library of books too, but my naughty cousins – more than twenty at the time – slowly smuggled my books out of my shelves – and today – cant find any left at my parents place- maybe I can buy some new editions – some place – so my kids can read – but in this day and age – I doubt they will want to read PURAANAY ZAMAANAY ki baatein *sigh*

  8. Ayesha permalink
    June 20, 2008 10:50 am

    Thank you everyone for dropping in 🙂

    Nayni: Do you know Umro Ayyar used to have a son as well called Chalak bin Umro . Now that is just too funny!

    K: I also used to think that his zanbeel carries a whole lot of magical things. But there was one thing I loved about it and that was Sulaimani topi and till date I wish to have one 😉

  9. Ayesha permalink
    June 20, 2008 10:55 am

    Aadil: I still read Jasoosi and Suspense but not much; and yes, in college I was a regular reader of magazines like Jasoosi, Suspense and Sarguzasht. Those magazines had some fantastic translated as well as historic stories.

    Shobig: You reminded me Jhoolnay by Sufi Ghulam Mustafa Tabussum 😀 Watch this space for a picture of it. I said I am a hoarder 😛

    Nadeen: I agree time changes so does the trend. Such stuff is still available here and I believe many kids would read it but not the ones who live abroad. They are more into Harry Potter.

  10. bmkdot permalink
    June 25, 2008 11:55 am

    zaibeeeeeeeenaaaa ! 😉

    mein kiya karoon, mein kiss ko khaoon?

  11. Ayesha permalink
    June 25, 2008 1:27 pm

    Bhindiyon ko 😛

  12. nayni permalink
    June 25, 2008 4:26 pm

    Bhindian tu saari main ne khaa lee :-p

  13. Ayesha permalink
    June 25, 2008 4:28 pm

    Should I send you some? 😛

    We grow them at home and don’t ask I am sick of eating bhindiyan every other day :-S

  14. nayni permalink
    June 25, 2008 6:11 pm

    I luv bhindian so give me that plot where u grow bhindian plz 😛

  15. Ayesha permalink
    June 25, 2008 7:07 pm

    Sure but you’d be sick of it soon 😛

  16. nayni permalink
    June 25, 2008 7:31 pm

    hehehehehe….. ho sakta hae …………….. Dastras main kuch aa jaye tu phir kahan uss ki qadar rah jate hae 🙂

  17. Ayesha permalink
    June 25, 2008 7:36 pm

    Cent percent true! 🙂

  18. June 30, 2008 9:16 pm

    I am planning to grow bhindi at home in pots – cant have land here – we used to grow bhindi once at home – it is unbeliveable how good it cooks – right off the plant into the pan – after being washed of course.

  19. Ayesha permalink
    June 30, 2008 9:57 pm

    I think bhindi can be easily grown. Because nothing else grows in our backyard except for it.

    I agree fresh veggies taste deliscious 😛

Leave a Reply

