Skip to content

Bibi Sanam Janem

June 7, 2010

I am not a huge fan of foreign language songs (especially the ones I don’t understand much) but some songs are so catchy that it is hard to ignore. This morning I checked out the first episode of Coke Studio season 3. All the songs were nice but Bibi Sanam Janem by Zeb & Haniya stuck to my mind. In my view, they have done full justice with the song and it sounds as good as the original one. Before that Zeb & Haniya had done a Pushto/Dari song, Paimana Bide, which was a big hit. They had performed it on Coke Studio season 2.

A friend helped me with the lyrics of Bibi Sanam Janem. I am posting the translation here.

Bibi sanam janem, anaar-e-sisstanem

My love, you are like the sweet pomegranate of Sistan

Ba darwazae tajh quran jayee sanam janem

Your being borders on the divine, my love

Bibi sanam janem, anaar-e-sisstanem

Bibi sanam janem, anaar-e-sisstanem

My love, you are like the sweet pomegranate of Sistan

Ba darwazae tajh quran jayee sanam janem

Ba darwazae tajh quran jayee sanam janem

Your being borders on the divine, my love

Kassi harfe dile maa ra nadaanist

What I feel for you, no one is privy to it

Bibi sanam janem, anaar-e-sisstanem

My love, you are like the sweet pomegranate of Sistan

Bahaaie mahafele maa ra nadaanist

No one can fathom the depths or value this love

Bibi sanam janem, anaar-e-sisstanem

My love, you are like the sweet pomegranate of Sistan

Ba joz tofaan kassi dar shehr-e-ghurbat

The wild storms crashing down on strange, distant cities

Bibi sanam janem, anaar-e-sisstanem

My love, you are like the sweet pomegranate of Sistan

Nishaan-e mahafel-e maa ra nadaanist

Only they know the true worth of our love

Bibi sanam janem, anaar-e-sisstan

Bibi sanam janem, anaar-e-sisstanem

Bibi sanam janem, anaar-e-sisstanem

My love, you are like the sweet pomegranate of Sistan

Ba darwazae tajh quran jayee sanam janem

Ba darwazae tajh quran jayee sanam janem

Your being borders on the divine, my love

Na mekhawahm ke be taabat bebinom

Not ever would I want you to be sad

Bibi sanam janem, anaar-e-sisstanem

My love, you are like the sweet pomegranate of Sistan

Dilam khwahad ke shadaab att bebinam,

All I ever need is that you be happy and content

Bibi sanam janem, anaar-e-sisstanem

My love, you are like the sweet pomegranate of Sistan

Nadeedam man ba bedaari rukhat ra

Even if all the flowers in the world wilt and wither away

Bibi sanam janem, anaar-e-sisstanem

My love, you are like the sweet pomegranate of Sistan

Magar hamchu pari khwaabat bebinom

That love I have for you in my heart will not fade

Bibi sanam janem, anaar-e-sisstanem

Bibi sanam janem, anaar-e-sisstanem

Bibi sanam janem, anaar-e-sisstanem

My love, you are like the sweet pomegranate of Sistan

Ba darwazae tajh quran jayee sanam janem

Ba darwazae tajh quran jayee sanam janem

Your being borders on the divine, my love

Dil-e-naazok tar az andisha darum

What my heart feels is far mellower than my thoughts

Bibi sanam janem, anaar-e-sisstanem

My love, you are like the sweet pomegranate of Sistan

Hawaie mottadel chun re sha darum

There will never be a moment when I won’t yearn for you

Bibi sanam janem, anaar-e-sisstanem

Hama gul hai e aalaam barge e khoshkad

Bibi, believe me, your love is deeply rooted in my heart

Bibi sanam janem, anaar-e-sisstanem

Tu dar baagh e kheialem reesha dary

Even if all the flowers in the world wither

Bibi sanam janem, anaar-e-sisstanem

Bibi sanam janem, anaar-e-sisstanem

Bibi sanam janem, anaar-e-sisstanem

Ba darwazae tajh quran jayee sanam janem

Ba darwazae tajh quran jayee sanam janem

Bibi sanam janem, anaar-e-sisstanem

Bibi sanam janem, anaar-e-sisstanem

Bibi sanam janem, anaar-e-sisstanem

Bibi sanam janem, anaar-e-sisstanem

Ba darwazae tajh quran jayee sanam janem

My love, you are like the sweet pomegranate of Sistan

And your being borders on the divine

27 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2010 5:58 pm

    Thanks for the post !!

  2. June 7, 2010 9:11 pm

    Was just listening to the song .. thought it was catchy.. wanted to understand wht the lyrics were and stumbled upon your post! :)

  3. Maria permalink
    June 8, 2010 6:28 pm

    Hmm I think the translation is somewhat off – even though the farsi is correct. I am a Farsi speaker (well supposed to be :D, but my grasp isn’t outstanding) but there are sentences here which seem opposite or diff than the actual language e.g.

    Tu dar baagh e kheialem reesha dary

    Even if all the flowers in the world wither <— I dont see how this is the translation. The sentence almost means 'u r deeply rooted in the garden of my thoughts'. Even if u compare it with Urdu … :) you will see what I mean.

  4. Maria permalink
    June 8, 2010 7:33 pm

    Ah! the translation is just a little out of sequence .. So e.g.

    Hama gul hai e aalaam barge e khoshkad = Even if all the flowers in the world wither

    Tu dar baghe khialam reesha dary – you will stay deeply rooted in the garden of my thoughts

    • June 8, 2010 10:10 pm

      There is always a room for error when you copy/paste a random translation from the Internet. Thanks for your input, it was helpful.

  5. Ugly Shoelace permalink
    June 9, 2010 5:12 pm

    Awesome song :D

  6. June 10, 2010 6:09 am

    Okay I’m following Maria’s blog from now on…

  7. June 10, 2010 11:03 am

    Thanks!!!

  8. mariamirza permalink
    June 11, 2010 9:43 pm

    Ayesha, I definitely understand what you mean :). It’s not just about non-Urdu songs, heck sometimes I don’t even understand what a singer singing in Urdu is saying. After listening to this song, I was looking for the Farsi lyrics and stumbled on your blog and am glad I did. I was just confused reading the translation, so shared my ‘confusion’ and then the ‘Eureka’ moment :).

  9. Sohrab permalink
    June 16, 2010 5:10 am

    Hi,
    I am Sohrab from Afghanistan. This is an historical and folksy song from Balkh province. but there is a mistake in its translation:
    “Ba darwazae tajh quran jayee sanam janem

    Your being borders on the divine, my love”
    there is a place in Mazar-e Sharif city (capital of Balkh province) by the name of Darwazae Tajqurghan (means: door to Tajqurghan). Tajqurghan is the name of a district in Balkh province. The correct meaning of this poem is:
    bibi sanam jan is living in the Darwazae Tajqurghan. by regards.

    • Harshavardhan permalink
      June 4, 2011 4:03 pm

      What a song!! Thank You for your correction!!

  10. farooqsoomro permalink
    June 16, 2010 1:22 pm

    All the translations are available on coke studio now!!

    Cant wait for first Sindhi song to be on air!!

    • June 16, 2010 2:16 pm

      That’s great! Thanks for the link!

  11. M,NOMAN.KHATTAK permalink
    June 17, 2010 5:23 am

    NICE SONG

  12. June 18, 2010 11:32 am

    I heard that this songs was in Darri … which is a bit different from Persian !!!

  13. June 18, 2010 1:24 pm

    thanks for the translation..bib sanam janam is awesomeness from zeb&haniya

  14. Arshad permalink
    June 29, 2010 8:58 pm

    Hi,
    The meaning of the song posted here is not quite right.
    Some lines are close transalations and some lines are just bluff.
    Thanks.

  15. Farhad permalink
    July 2, 2010 7:29 pm

    Hi,

    Thank you so much for the song. I grew up listening to this song. But Zeb and Haneya sung this song much better than the original one. And for those who think translation is off beat, well, you can’t translate poem or lyrecs just word by word, it would lose the whole idea or meaning.

    peace

  16. April 28, 2011 12:54 am

    awesome. Even i checked out the song and like you i just go by the music n rhythm.

    Thanks for the lyrics..

    u might also want u to check out “garaj baras” ..lovely fusion mix..on coke studio site…

    cheerz
    shri

  17. shuhaib permalink
    May 27, 2011 6:18 pm

    Maria & Sohrab, thanks for helping with the translation!

  18. June 21, 2011 8:07 am

    thanks dude

  19. Some Thankful Guy permalink
    July 18, 2011 5:00 am

    Thanks for the translation. Great Song.

  20. ameya permalink
    November 11, 2011 11:16 am

    thanks for the translation. i like the fact the translation is “in essense” and not a word to word literal translation.

  21. Anonymous permalink
    November 28, 2011 12:56 pm

    where r you ayesha ??

  22. December 31, 2011 5:40 pm

    Hay gumby

Trackbacks

  1. song translation « afghanistan collected

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

