Skip to content

Of Paper Cuts & Other Things

May 2, 2010

Have you ever suffered from paper cuts. I did many times. The most recent one was a couple of days back on my left middle finger. I put my hand in the backpack to take out something and I swiped my finger on the crisp white paper. Ouch! It felt like I rubbed my finger on the sharp blade. My finger bled. The cut was deep. I wonder how these papers cause cuts. Sometimes, the words on the paper cut the same way. I bet they do.

I don’t understand how all the kids are programmed on the same frequency in certain matters. Like, take an example of the shoes and slippers. The kids, almost all of them love chewing slippers and shoes. The more you stop them, the more they go back and do the same thing again and again that is they’ll pick up the shoe and try to shove into their tiny mouths. Amazing! No idea what’s so adventurous about it.  I don’t know if I also used to do the same as an infant. I have never asked. No one told me either.

Junk food is something I hated all my life but these days I seem to be having it too much. I call it a junk food galore. I like Pringles, Lays and Oreo. These oreos are darn addictive. Like I just can’t stop myself. That isn’t good. I need to have some control. As I am typing these lines, I am having an urge to eat one more piece of Lays, one more cookie.

T20 World Cup started yesterday. It was a kind of pleasant surprise because I didn’t know it was about to begin that soon. What amazed me most was the inclusion of Afghanistan cricket team. Wow! Finally they’ve made it to the international cricket arena. Football (soccer) is more popular in Afghanistan but Afghanis have taken up the love of cricket from Pakistan because 2 generations grew up in Pakistan and I would often see them play street cricket in their slums and in our play grounds.

As much as I was sickened by Shoaib Malik’s wedding drama, I wanted him to be the part of T20 World Cup team. He’s a handy player. I hope our team does well and could successfully defend the title.

The other day I saw a mother duck and lots of baby ducks following her. They were crossing the street. It’s not the first time I saw such a scene but those baby ducks looked really cute, taking small, quick steps behind their mother. What an amazing relation and a mentor a mother could be! I so wanted to take the photo of those ducks but didn’t get the chance because they were fast besides my view was blocked by other cars. Life looks amazing when you indulge in nature for a while.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Ugly Shoelace permalink
    May 2, 2010 6:19 pm

    Whoever made pringles and Oreos will go to heaven :P

  2. Anonymous permalink
    May 3, 2010 5:56 am

    duckies ?? or ducklings !!

  3. May 7, 2010 9:49 pm

    I think what hurts the most is when we cut our finger with any sort of glass, auch that hurts :-P I did it the other day N I still feel pain in my finger. Awww Duckies, Would have been sho cute, I hope you see them again soon N then you can take a pic N share it :-D God bless.

    • May 8, 2010 7:31 am

      How’s your finger now? There is no difference in paper cut and glass cut, believe me! :P

  4. May 8, 2010 5:31 am

    i love how nature has a way to protect what matters to it the most!

  5. May 10, 2010 4:36 pm

    I cut the same finger on my left hand around the same time. On a cheese slicer. The one thing I noticed was that it healed very rapidly, in spite of the soft flesh and rather deep wound. This would not have been so, several years ago.

    With age, some things improve.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

