Skip to content

The Road Not Taken

April 25, 2010

On Thursday I went for trekking in the local woods. The park is rich in Native American history. The park contains two Adena Indian burial mounds and a prehistoric earthwork. The mounds looked like just any other mound of soil. That park is also famous for seeing Bald Eagles. I tried hard to catch a glimpse of those but they were sitting on the far away trees and the low quality binoculars (that were not mine) proved of no help. It’s a nice place for taking a walk, trekking and jogging.

But I am not used to trekking. I have never trekked so the 100 minutes of trekking left me with soar body. When I came back home that day, I couldn’t even stand properly and I felt as if I am about to fall. I wonder some really old people were trekking over there. Stamina is a good thing and I am trying my best to build some.

The trail reminded me of Islamabad’s Dam-e-Koh. The same kind of trees, shrubs, flowers and ravines. However, unlike Dam-e-Koh this park has no cafe or any shop for buying snacks etc. I had left my water bottle in the car by mistake. It is advisable to take water and light snacks along and the best time to visit is in spring and summer.

It was a nice place for introspection. While walking the path this poem was constantly in my mind. Perhaps Mr. Frost would have conceived it treading a path like that.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference

Robert Frost

19 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2010 6:59 am

    Wow – thanks. Didn’t know this Robert Frost poem. I shall be borrowing it. :-) I’ve been told, that many places in America – reminds the person of different places in Pakistan. Lucky you people.

    • April 25, 2010 3:18 pm

      This means Pakistan is rich in natural beauty but unfortunately most of such areas are now ‘troubled’!

      This poem by Robert Frost is quite popular and often quoted by those who tend to take different path in life. Perhaps I’m one of those! :P

  2. April 25, 2010 3:31 pm

    “Perhaps I’m one of those.”

    Only you know that. :-) I know I am.

    And I also know about the trouble in Pakistan. I keep up as much as I can ‘bear’ to hear about it.

    • April 25, 2010 3:42 pm

      I’m but interestingly I never chose that path deliberately! :D

  3. Zoe permalink
    April 25, 2010 4:09 pm

    Yay for that poem :D. It’s one of my favourites.

  4. Anonymous permalink
    April 25, 2010 4:21 pm

    “You win or lose..depends on the path you choose”
    good post dear..enjoyed goin through it !!

  5. April 25, 2010 5:01 pm

    “I’m but interestingly I never chose that path deliberately!”

    A surprising reply!! I didn’t suggest you did. :-)

    I’ve never met anyone who chose such a path “deliberately”, if by that you mean a conscious choice?

  6. April 26, 2010 5:00 am

    Nice photo and nice poem of Robert Frost!

    I liked that… :-)

  7. April 27, 2010 10:46 am

    Assalamoalaikum,!

    I understand VERY well what you mean about Stamina, I use to be able to run for about 3 miles in 30 mins and now? I fainted last winter , I remember after 5 mins of running!! and there were these people in their 60s and 70s running for miles!!

    MashaAllah the pictures are very nice and the place looks so calm and peaceful and i loved the poem you posted..

    hope youre having a good time there.

    • May 8, 2010 7:20 am

      W’salam:

      Don’t even mention stamina! I wonder how it is built! :D

  8. May 13, 2010 7:20 pm

    Aye hey, you’ve left Pakistan?
    for good?

  9. May 18, 2010 1:53 pm

    Wwwwwoooooooo u have so much fun there…. i am jealous..kind of :P

    its like my day dream to visit woods and greenry and spend few moments with myself of MINE… :) i wish it could be possible in sarcastic world :D

    nice pics and Chirya u have enough opportunity to build stamina…go go go..! :)

  10. Mokecothelobe permalink
    May 23, 2010 2:08 am

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian

  11. January 3, 2012 8:25 am

    ahh great pictures and the couplet is very nice and deep … nice post

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

