Skip to content

My Name is Ayesha

February 7, 2010

Everyone, such as Karan and SRK’s close journalist buddies and actor friends are raving My Name is Khan. I don’t like seeing movies in the light of someone else’s views because I usually end up hating that movie even if it is genuinely good. Similarly, I have some problem watching over hyped movies that is why I have never watched Titanic (from start to finish), Avatar – despite the fact that it became one of the highest grosser of all times and the New Moon. I had watched Twilight (New Moon’s prequel) a year after its release.

Keeping my weird habit of movie watching in view, I am skeptical about the film fraternity’s awesome reviews about the movie that they are sharing with the world after the special screening of MNIK; although, overall I have a positive vibe about the movie for certain reasons. According to them the movie would be a smashing hit and the Kajol-SRK pair would be able to maintain their 100% success record.

Like every big release, MNIK too ran into trouble (sort of) when Shiv Sena threatened to stopped the release of the movie in Mumbai following SRK’s statement about the participation of Pakistan cricket players in IPL. The Sena demanded an apology from SRK and asked him to go to Karachi and Islamabad to play with the Pakistani players. SRK is firm on his statement which of course was totally harmless and simple. The entire movie industry stands behind SRK and his democratic right of freedom of expression. Hopefully, he’d be out of that crisis soon!

By the way, are these Sena goons the Taliban of India? Undemocratic, wild, uncouth, full of hatred and ready to disturb peace! It was because of elements like those the IPL didn’t auction for Pakistani players because their security would have become a huge liability for them. That’s not the first time – the Sena had been involved in an attack on the IBN (news channels) Mumbai office a few months ago. They beat up several journalists because the TV had aired negative reports about Thackery.

Coming back to MNIK, it is SRK’s major release in two years so is naturally important for him. He has played the role of a Muslim for the fourth time in his career. First one was his forgettable cameo in Hey Ram, second one was one of his best movies Chak De and third one was Billu, which was quite nice.

Although, MNIK is basically a love story (that emphasis on the inter-faith harmony) but it also encourages people to be proud of their identity, especially Muslims, who have suffered discrimination and intolerance due to global war on terror. One can see SRK saying in the promos: My name is Khan and I am not a terrorist. The MNIK team introduced the My Name is Khan t-shirts. I thought to make my own virtual t shirt as well! So here goes my statement: My name is Ayesha and I am proud to be who I am.

All the best to MNIK team! I’ll reserve my further comments for later when the movie hits the theaters on 12th of Feb!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2010 1:41 pm

    hahhaa My Name is Yasser :-P

    actually i had this status update on Facebook long time ago when i heard about this movie or may be some coincidence, like My Name is Khan yes , Yasser Khan.

    anyway Shiv-sena is one of the big extremist party in India which are more threatening than anyone else.

    Just love it my name is “NAME” t-shirt :-)

    • February 7, 2010 3:54 pm

      That title is nothing special, yet sounds so good! :)

      I wish I too could say ‘My name is Khan’… if my surname was that! :D

  2. nanu permalink
    February 8, 2010 6:43 pm

    Shiv Sena tries to be. But are not really succesful. They have losing elections for sometime now. Hopefully they’ll go away soon.

    • February 9, 2010 5:30 pm

      I think they’ll stay and would look for different issues to hang on to! There are always such (insane) elements in every society…

  3. February 9, 2010 12:38 pm

    I havent read any reviews about this movie (except this post by you) and don’t know what the theme of this movie is, but according to what you say, this topic should have been touched upon by Muslims themselves. I think it is bad that non-muslims are teaching Muslims to be proud of their identity. This one statement is so very strong, “My name is Khan and I’m not a terrorist”. Says a lot really.

    About the Sena, I disagree with your statement “By the way, are these Sena goons the Taliban of India? Undemocratic, wild, uncouth, full of hatred and ready to disturb peace!”. Are you sure it is the Taliban that are creating disturbances everywhere? How and why would you refer the problem creators in India as the Talibans of India? This is what I think is the impact of media on us. I’m not favoring whatever Taliban do, I don’t even know what they do, I’m just saying that they might not be as bad as portrayed by the media. Thats only my perception…

    • February 9, 2010 5:35 pm

      I think you’d be really offended to know that Mr. Khan (the main character) is married to a Hindu in a movie (read my line – the movie promotes inter-faith – communal harmony) … :D

      I don’t care if a non-Muslim teaches us to be proud of our identity. The intention matters most!

      See I am clear about who Taliban are and what they do? Doesn’t matter who is pulling their strings as long as they are playing in the their hands and are wreaking havoc on us. The sooner we realize our enemies – the better!

      Come on it’s been frickin’ 16 years of Taliban’s existence (not included the so-called jihadis) and we know what they do! Don’t we?!

  4. February 10, 2010 9:53 am

    My name is Khan too & I a proud Posti …

  5. Anonymous permalink
    February 10, 2010 12:15 pm

    Hi Ayesha..
    ’twas good reading….

    as per your statement:
    // Coming back to MNIK, it is SRK’s major release in two years so is naturally important for him. He has played the role of a Muslim for the second time in his career. First one was his forgettable cameo in Hey Ram. //

    i would like to remind you that there was a movie, not in the recent past: “Chak De India” where too Mr. S.R. Khan had played a muslim character: Kabir Khan….

    Again to clear some aspects about Shiv Sena’s anti SRK stand at present…. i would like to tell you ma’am that Shiv-Sena is against Mr. Khan because of his statements regarding inclusion of Pakistani players in the IPL-3 (which u know)..
    If Mr. Khan was very much interested in having Pakistani players in his team then why he didn’t bid for them in the auction itself ?? (that’s the problem) and later on he is issuing such statements that he wanted to have the Pakistani players in his team….it is so stupid of Mr. Khan to not to do the task when he had the time and then repent later in front of the media….

    Again there are more security risks associated with inclusion of Pakistani players as compared to other nationals….India and Pakistan share what kind of political relationship is known to whole world….just imagine what would have happened if Lahore like situation will happen during IPL with Pakistani players….it would again put both the nations vying for each others blood….
    Again nobody in India has forgotten the Mumbai incidence whereby some handful of terrorists from Pakistan killed many innocent lives…. at that time nobody showed solidarity with the grieving families from across the border and when the “dramabaazi” of “Aman ki Asha” and “cricket diplomacy” starts up..they all have a say in it….

    I am not a Shiv-Sena lover.. i hate them more than you…. but still when I find such comments on youtube or on internet of these idiot pakistani players like Sohail Tanveer (in an interview on a pakistani channel) after the IPL snub that “Hinduon ki zahaniyat aisi hi hoti hai” and all other derogatory stuffs…. it makes me like the stance of stupid Shiv Sainiks too…..

    Such stupid players (like sohail tanveer) are religious fanatics in the garb of players and hence i appreciate that they were not allowed on Indian territory.

    {and please do not compare anybody with Taliban…..they (the Talibanis) are the real Satans in the present world }

    • February 10, 2010 1:07 pm

      Hey, thanks for reminding me that movie ‘Chak De’. I just added it. Indeed when I was writing I thought there was one other movie but I forgot to mention and ironically that’s my favorite :|

      And I must tell you! Bloggers/columnists and the sane voices did condemn the Mumbai attacks. Don’t compare the small number of bad people with the majority of people (Muslims) who in fact don’t support such acts at all.

      I can also say how many of you people from India condemn the bomb blasts taking place in Pakistan almost daily while I can also point finger at RAW for training, arming and aiding Taliban and other miscreants.

      For the rest of your comment you are entitled to your view. While I’m to mine!

      PS: In his interview to Barkha Dutt SRK said Saurav Ganguli and the coach wanted Abdul Razzaq for their team and they had negotiated that to him too but he broke his wrist! Otherwise he had been part of KKR!
      I don’t mind dropping Pakistani players from IPL because it isn’t a charity tournament. The money is involved so all the franchises want a risk free investment of course.

  6. February 11, 2010 5:25 am

    You probably took me wrong :-). When I say that this topic should be touched upon by Muslims themselves, I meant that we should take heed at least now. Intention definitely matters, and whosoever promotes peace is more than welcome to do so, may he be a Muslim or a non-Muslim, but Muslims don’t seem to be doing it. Muslims should know what their religion teaches and should spread it, instead of getting constantly taught by others…

    And I’m just against the labeling of Taliban as terrorists. I have a different perception, as in I think it is not the “Taliban” doing what we know they’re doing, but someone else pretending to be Taliban and doing what we know is being done… Khair, thats a long debate and only my perception, I might very well be wrong…

  7. February 11, 2010 12:31 pm

    Ha! Just made another correction! I’m so out of touch that I forgot SRK has actually played the role of a Muslim 4 times in his career!

    My memory is withering or something! :roll:

  8. Anonymous permalink
    February 12, 2010 2:49 pm

    i would like to suggest u that u should not mention that number thing…. ‘cuz it is making you to recheck everytime….hai na !!

    at this point i would like to ask that is it so important for you to see somebody acting as a muslim ?? is it the criterion on which you judge a movie or for that matter you watch them..
    isn’t it a narrow minded outlook/perception ??

    • February 22, 2010 6:22 am

      Finally I was done with the post and didn’t check it for whole 10 days or so! :)

      No, it isn’t important for me because most of the times they play the bad (Muslim) anyway… :D

      In fact, I hated the stereotypical portrayal of a Lahorie Mulism family in ‘Veer-Zara’… believe me no one acts like that by putting on ‘sherwani and cap’ saying ‘adaab’… etc. That was more of ‘Luckhnow-esque’ then Lahore :|

  9. Anonymous permalink
    February 22, 2010 7:01 am

    ha ha ha….that was nice….
    now i can relate that incidence of “Aadaab..Aadaab” in Veer-Zaara with Lucknowi “ishtyle”….even i thought that Lahori’s act in this way !!

    but its nobody’s fault dear….we are so much related but so much unaware of each-other….i think its the circumstances which have made us so far from each-other !!

    but again frankly speaking, even today i feel that pakistanis and especially Punjabis and Sindhis are very respecting people (and i feel that is the general feeling here at my end)…. but you’ve given a completely different perspective to me now..

    • February 23, 2010 10:48 am

      You know ‘adaab’ thing is very archaic! I hear it only in Pakistan’s televisions classic , black and white plays or old novels set in pre-partition times! :)

  10. February 22, 2010 8:03 am

    i would like to mention … don’t give all the credit to shiv sena, some of it is shared by MNS (maharashtra navnirman sena) headed by mr. Raj thakre …

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

