Skip to content

Klashinfolk – Ali Azmat

December 17, 2009

Klashinfolk, Ali Azmat’s second solo album released in August-September (2008) and I didn’t even know about it. The reason is that I am away from the main stream Pakistani media since long. I have my own reasons for distancing myself… although at one time watching TV would consume most of my time.

I don’t know how I stumbled upon one of Ali’s songs from ‘Klashinfolk’ recently and took an instant liking. I checked the entire album online and liked most of the songs. I especially liked the interesting cover and inlay of the CD. I couldn’t find his CD since it’s been out of stock so I downloaded the songs from internet.

Many people have been raising eyebrows about the CD cover design and art because it shows Freemasonry logo and symbols. In one picture Ali Azmat is imitating Hitler’s salute. The cover and design is quite novel and it is basically this novelty which appealed to me a lot. I don’t care if Ali Azmat is a member of the ‘brotherhood’ (as some people thought) or not. Besides the title name of the album is also very unique; ‘Klashinfolk’ – Clashin’ folk – the people who clash or at loggerhead – it also sounds the reverse of the ‘Kalashnikov’!

Ali Azmat’s voice holds charm for me. Maybe, by listening to him, I sort of relive my teenage years when I used to buy and listen to ‘Junoon’s’ albums religiously (tapes at that time). I liked the music of ‘Klashinfolk’ more than the words or vocals. The words are typical like those I have grown up listening to. The vocals of Ali Azmat are good as usual. But the compositions and music is wonderful. I had liked a couple of songs from his first solo album, ‘Social Circus’ such as ‘Na Re Na’ and ‘Teri Perchaiyan’ but in my view this album is better than the ‘Social Circus’.

I still miss the band ‘Junoon’ and it wouldn’t be fair to compare this album with any of the ‘Junoon’s’ previous works.

Listening to the songs from ‘Klashinfolk’ in a low volume on headphones is a new experience that I am enjoying these days.

Here is one of my favorites: Naina

Disclaimer: This by no means is a promotional blog post. I like weird things at times so if you want to listen to the album, do it on your own risk! :P

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 18, 2009 11:53 am

    Though I’m still to listen to most of the songs in Klashinfolk, I cant admire enough Ali Azmat’s emotional, screaming vocals, his music and his penchant for creative titles. He’s definitely created a niche as a solo artist after the breaking up of Junoon and has managed quite a fan following.

    • December 20, 2009 1:18 pm

      Yep he’s better off Junoon!

      Deewar was Junoon’s weakest album by the way and one could feel the impending dissolution of the band! :|

  2. December 19, 2009 10:24 am

    My favorite songs of Ali Azmat are Tara Jala and Garaj Baras, i heard Tara Jala million times, i have heard Ali Azmat live as well, but that day he was not a good live singer :-) When first time you wrote klahshinfolk on twitter, i thought you are purchasing klashinkolf :-D. anyway i will go on to purchase this album hoping songs are similar to tara jala and garaj baras :-) Thanks for the post :-P

    • December 20, 2009 1:22 pm

      \’Tara Jala\’ and \’Garaj Baras\’ are good, hit and popular songs from the album \’Deewar\’…

      In my view, \’Klashinfolk\’ is way better than \’Deewar\’ and no, I\’m not interested in buying Kalashnikov :D

  3. February 1, 2011 9:32 pm

    good

  4. awan permalink
    July 23, 2011 7:14 pm

    the symbols ALIAZMAT used on his cd covers are the signs of freemasons. this is a Antichrist (dajjal) organisation.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

