Skip to content

Creative Blue

December 8, 2009

Ugh! I am sick of writing teeny-weeny poems and stories. I should be writing better, readable and quality stuff. But all I do is to churn out substandard stuff especially the poems. I had written those poems sometime back. Today while sifting through one of the documents I came across those and thought to post them. How bold I have become for posting the poor poems that should have been discarded!

I was wondering why most of my poems are so dark and gray. Amazingly, most of the times they hardly reflect my inner feelings yet I write them down. Does this mean something has gone terribly wrong with my imaginative power? Oh well, when you would see (Interior Minister) Rahman Malik and snakes, MJ and Meera in your dreams; hear the gory stuff related to Pakistan and it’s poor and battered people on everyday basis. Then you would sure end up writing such low quality stuff like I did.

On the other hand, I am wondering is this some other kind of writer’s block. Where you can think of ideas but can’t write them down and when you ultimately do write, it turns out to be an ignorable piece of crap.

There is another problem as well that I can’t write even general, day to day stuff in an interesting narrative either. Blue? Maybe! Maybe not! But I want to break free and express all that’s going on in my mind. My mind starts to race at the most unexpected times, such as when I am getting ready to sleep. Or I am offering prayers. Or I am engaged in other important tasks. I do write down important notes and points but I lose the fluency and string of thoughts. And with that I lose an interest as well to produce the idea bubbling in my mind on paper. So many wonderful ideas have died in my mind that way.

Pause.

After reading the above lines that I wrote a few minutes back, I think I’m going too hard on myself. I should take things easy. After all this blog is my space and I have a right to post anything I like. So please readers bear with my teeny-weeny creative writing for I am going through creative blue :D

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Adnan permalink
    December 8, 2009 6:19 pm

    Well,

    The problem is not with yourself Ayesha. It is with our society and the culture we have got here in Pakistan. I mean we do not have a culture which encourages innovation or creativity rather it is the one which is very much opposed to it.

    You know what, you are doing a great job by breaking this barrier and writing some poems and other creative stuff. We are living in an abnormal socieity and creativity and new ideas or thoughts are the hallmarks of a normal society my friend.

    So, keep on writing and keep on doing this wonderful job. God Bless You and Your Skills!

    • December 13, 2009 12:29 pm

      Thanks for the encouragement!

      It’s now time to write better… and when it doesn’t come along it sort of annoys me :|

  2. December 9, 2009 7:24 am

    I’ll second what the above comment says.
    I commend your efforts in writing albeit they might be grim because they represent a context behind them. One can’t write roses while sitting amid a heap of ashes, so you ought to be satisfied with whatever mood you are writing, for it is quite natural.

    Happy breaking out of the writers blue! :)

    • December 13, 2009 12:31 pm

      Thanks Aadil! And I wish you too come out of dry spell and update your blog more often! :)

  3. December 9, 2009 2:49 pm

    Superstition’s usually say if you see snake, it mean enemy is following you, i am not sure in your case, but i simply laughed when u tweeted that you saw MJ in your dream :-)

    i can see your creative blue in all the recent four posts, so keep it up and have a go :-) (Y)

    • December 13, 2009 12:32 pm

      It’s not a superstition! It’s given in Ibn-Sereen as the meaning of seeing snakes in dreams. The black one means an enemy!

      Yep, I see such retarded dreams sometimes :D

  4. December 10, 2009 8:48 am

    I agree. There are times when you so want to write something but dont get time, and when you do get time, you dont have points or contents to make up a writing. A few days back I even wrote down a couple of hints for myself to elaborate in my post, but now I dont remember a bit what those hints mean :-P…

    Your blog is definitely your own space. And this very feeling will let you get rid of the writers block, if there is any. Keep up the good work…

    • December 13, 2009 12:33 pm

      And sometimes I feel just too lazy to write or type while the entire debate is going on in my mind. In that case I should speak and record everything :P

  5. December 10, 2009 10:32 am

    It’s normal feeling which simply portrays you NORMAL Humanbeing.. :)

    keep it up

  6. December 10, 2009 6:48 pm

    Seems like you’re growing :)

    http://imranhunzai.wordpress.com/2009/12/07/win-prizes/

  7. Umm Zakariyya permalink
    December 11, 2009 5:21 pm

    Assalamoalaikum,

    seems like ages since I used the computer!!!:

    Its still broken and Ive borrowed someone’s to check my mail at ;least

    InshaAllah you’ll be alright. what you write is often good, or sof ar that Ive read.. :) hope to be back soon, myself.

    • December 13, 2009 12:36 pm

      W’salam:

      Good to see you after long!

      Now come back in full blogging action asap! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

