Skip to content

Of Vintage Items

July 29, 2009

The world is moving ahead; the technology is advancing fast and several new gadgets are introduced every year. Where on the one hand, I like new gadgets immensely, on the other hand, I have started developing taste for the vintage – classic items.

rotary phoneThere are times when I wish to dig my finger in the rotary dial to make a call. Though that is a sheer dream because it is an obsolete technology now. I remember our first telephone was rotary – of white in color. When we changed it with a new model; I got the old one and used to play with it like a toy phone. So what happened to it? As much as I recall, I opened the screws and took out all that was inside it and then of course I couldn’t put it back together. I wish I had kept it. It could have been a collectible item.

Other than the rotary phone what interest me is the classic (portable) typewriter. Modern day typewriter looks more like the fusion of a computer and printer with loads of features. I like the one in the photo – with only black and blue ribbon. I have never used a typewriter and I know it would be disastrous given the amount of typos I make but still its design, font and the clanking sounds charms me. typewriter

Such typewriters are up for sale on eBay. Let’s see if I could (ever) get hold of one!

PS: The photos are taken from Flickr

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2009 10:12 am

    I’d love to get one such typewriter one day :)

    • Ayesha permalink
      July 29, 2009 4:52 pm

      Yes, if such typewriter is in working condition then it must be worth buying!

  2. July 29, 2009 11:10 am

    WOw, we had that phone too and it was also ofwhite in colour and I did EXACTLY the same thing to it :D hehehe

    as for the typewriter, not sure if IM a typewriteer sort of a person, somtimes technology is a bliss, ut you’re right old things are really good and easy , e.g instead of using the waffle maker, why cant I just pour the batter in a circle in a fryingpan and cook them like that :D nice post :)

    • Ayesha permalink
      July 29, 2009 4:54 pm

      Destructive kids! :P

      Yes, don’t know at times such things appeal too much and make me nostalgic.

  3. jman permalink
    July 29, 2009 5:40 pm

    Wow these things are almost as ancient as nauman aijaz’s moustache. Ha

    http://jjutol.blogspot.com/

  4. August 2, 2009 10:26 pm

    Thats a nice post. Brings back old memories :-).

    • Ayesha permalink
      August 2, 2009 11:22 pm

      :) Yes, old memories!

Trackbacks

  1. New Gadgets | Of Vintage Items

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

